Thank You



Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.epic531198.2


    Thank You Epic
    1. Thank You Epic
    2. Thank You (Dlx) Epic / RCA

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Displaying a professional savvy her cheerfully naïve persona belies, Meghan Trainor ditches the retro sensibilities that fueled her debut album, Title, on its swiftly released successor, Thank You. By no means has Trainor abandoned her theatricality, but drama club exuberance is as inherent to Meghan's persona as Katy Perry's cheerleader pinup is to hers. The key to Thank You is that she's swapped out Glee-ful retro pageantry in favor of modern R&B shepherded by executive producer Ricky Reed. Such a shift in sensibility means Thank You feels fresher than Title, and it's more coherent, too: everything stems from a clean, stylish sensibility. Even when she indulges in a throwback, as when the lights lower for the slow dance "Hopeless Romantic," the simple guitar and vocal arrangements function as a sly accent to the bright, bustling surroundings of the rest of Thank You. Trainor similarly rejiggers her lyrical outlook, leaving behind the attention-grabbing jokes and jibes, not to mention the antiquated sentiments of "Dear Future Husband," relying on the empowerment of "All About That Bass." "If I was you, I'd want to be me too," she sings on "Me Too," only to up the ante with "I don't mean to brag, I don't mean to boast, I love all y'all me the most." Even her mom is better than your mom. All these odes to self are designed to boost the self-esteem of her audience, not Trainor herself, a point underscored by Thank You's shiny, happy pop, equal parts modern R&B and Y2K throwback. Taken on a track by track basis, it can be silly fun -- even such goofball party numbers as "Dance Like Yo Daddy" contain a guileless charm -- and Trainor is smart to keep things light and positive: it's a deliberately youthful sound in an era that yearns for maturity. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Watch Me Do - 3:49
  2. 2. Me Too - 3:01
  3. 3. NO - 4:33
  4. 4. Better - 3:47
  5. 5. Hopeless Romantic - 4:05
  6. 6. I Love Me - 3:47
  7. 7. Kindly Calm Me Down - 4:58
  8. 8. Woman Up - 3:28
  9. 9. Just a Friend to You - 3:44
  10. 10. I Won't Let You Down - 3:20
  11. 11. Dance Like Yo Daddy - 3:03
  12. 12. Champagne Problems - 4:42

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews