aec.vcr654.2 4/10/12 New
$11.88 $13.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.vcr654.2


    Episodes Victory Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text After the back-to-basics Plead the Fifth, Taproot once again get serious on The Episodes, an ambitious concept album that finds them reconnecting with their prog side without quite abandoning the churning nu-metal that brought them to the attention of Fred Durst at the beginning of their career. Despite those remnants of heavy fifth harmonies in the voices and guitars, The Episodes is certainly a record that flaunts its self-stylized complexities, frequently drifting into extended instrumental interludes, taking its time as it cascades from quiet to loud, often finding space for ominous recitals from a Speak & Spell. While the latter feels like a tired gimmick, on the whole The Episodes is refreshing when compared to the head-down rock of Plead the Fifth. Perhaps The Episodes never relates a coherent story line -- it's impossible to tell what the story is without too close of a listen -- the album nevertheless gels musically and it's one of the band's better efforts. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Good Morning - 5:36
  2. 2. No Surrender - 4:25
  3. 3. Lost Boy - 4:21
  4. 4. Memorial Park - 5:41
  5. 5. Everlasting - 4:48
  6. 6. Around the Bend - 4:01
  7. 7. Kiss from the Sky - 3:26
  8. 8. Strange & Fascinating - 4:10
  9. 9. Golden Grey - 4:59
  10. 10. We Don't Belong Here - 4:27

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews