Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.coj30050.2


    Surrender Concord
    1. Surrender Concord
    2. Surrender (Jpn) Universal Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text At once crisply assertive and lovingly sensual, vocalist Jane Monheit is the jazz equivalent of the young and charming grade school teacher you secretly nurtured a crush on. A sophisticated bombshell of a performer with a voice that is, like her appearance, voluptuous and flawlessly pretty, Monheit has garnered well-earned comparisons to such icons as Ella Fitzgerald and the goddess of vocal pop, Barbra Streisand. In that sense, her sixth studio album, Surrender, is, at first glance, not dissimilar from her past work. Recorded with her working combo including husband and drummer Rick Montalbano, Surrender is a ballads-heavy album that features a mix of jazz standards, reworked pop tunes, and several bossa nova numbers. What is different is the focus and presentation of Monheit. Rather than featuring her here simply as a singer fronting a jazz band, Surrender is a cinematic showcase, a Broadway-sized coming-out party that finds Monheit's voice framed against sweeping orchestration and glossy, Technicolor arrangements. This is Monheit the vocal diva, the superstar. ~ Matt Collar

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. If You Went Away - 4:56
  2. 2. Surrender - 4:12
  3. 3. Rio de Maio - 4:16
  4. 4. Like a Lover - 6:32
  5. 5. Só Tinha de Ser Com Você - 5:43
  6. 6. So Many Stars - 4:11
  7. 7. Moon River - 5:43
  8. 8. Overjoyed - 6:46
  9. 9. Caminhos Cruzados - 5:59
  10. 10. Time for Love - 5:01

Product Details

Release Date