Stoney Edwards/She's 1005


rovi.MR0000433393 8/29/05 Used
$14.44 $16.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000433393


    Stoney Edwards/She's 1005 Hux Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Hux's 2005 two-fer Stoney Edwards/She's My Rock is the first time Stoney Edwards' first two albums have been released on CD, thereby righting one of the major wrongs within country reissues. Edwards has been perennially overlooked over the years, the kind of singer who only hardcore country fans know about -- which, in a way, is appropriate, since he was a pure hard country singer who adhered to the classic '60s honky tonk sound. Yet for as consistently good as his music was, he never had really big hits -- he had two singles, "She's My Rock" in 1973 and "Mississippi You're on My Mind" in 1975, peak at 20 -- which may have been down to him being a black singer in a genre where African-Americans were a rarity and had a hard time being heard, even in the wake of Charley Pride's considerable success. But it's also true that in the early '70s, when country-pop was dominating the upper reaches of the charts, Edwards' hard country wasn't as commercially appealing, no matter how well executed it was. That might have made his 1971 debut, Stoney Edwards, and 1973's follow-up, She's My Rock, underachievers in terms of the charts, but artistically they were both first-rate, and have held up extraordinarily well over the years. While many of the main cuts showed up on Razor & Tie's excellent 1998 overview Poor Folks Stick Together, both of these albums were consistently good, both in terms of songs and performance, with no weak spots -- so anybody who enjoyed that compilation should certainly pick this two-fer up, because it is simply further proof that when it came to pure, straight-ahead honky tonk in the Lefty Frizzell tradition, few did it better than Edwards in the early '70s. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. All She Made of Me - 3:33
  2. 2. Daddy Did His Best - 3:39
  3. 3. She Believed in Me - 2:19
  4. 4. Kingdom I Call Home - 3:55
  5. 5. Tell Me That You Love Me - 3:42
  6. 6. What Made You Change Your Mind? - 3:35
  7. 7. You Can't Call Yourself Country - 3:30
  8. 8. Why Don't You Go Home (Where You Belong) - 3:44
  9. 9. I Don't Believe I'll Fall in Love Today - 3:40
  10. 10. I Won't Make It Through the Day - 3:46
  11. 11. You're a Believer - 3:45
  12. 12. Sunshine Feeling - 3:36
  13. 13. She's Helping Me Get Over You - 3:39
  14. 14. Fishin' Song - 2:16
  15. 15. Two Dollar Toy - 3:42
  16. 16. She's My Rock - 2:26
  17. 17. I've Got Mine - 3:34
  18. 18. Honky Tonk Heaven - 2:16
  19. 19. You Stayed Long Enough (To Make Me Love You) - 3:42
  20. 20. Something New and Different - 3:54

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews