Stan Getz/Bill Evans (Ger)


aec.imt5003064.2 2/16/88 New
$11.04 $12.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt5003064.2


    Stan Getz/Bill Evans (Ger) Universal Classics & Jazz / Verve
    1. Stan Getz/Bill Evans (Ger) Universal Classics & Jazz / Verve
    2. & Bill Evans (Shm) (Jpn)

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text The only studio meeting between Stan Getz and Bill Evans took place over two days in 1964, with the aggressive drummer Elvin Jones and either Richard Davis or Ron Carter on bass. It is peculiar that Verve shelved the results for over a decade before issuing any of the music, though it may have been felt that Getz and Evans hadn't had enough time to achieve the desired chemistry, though there are memorable moments. The punchy take of "My Heart Stood Still," the elegant interpretation of "Grandfather's Waltz," and the lush setting of the show tune "Melinda" all came from the first day's session, with Davis on bass. (Evidently he was unavailable the following day, so Carter replaced him.) Evans' driving, challenging "Funkallero" is the obvious highlight from day two, though the gorgeous "But Beautiful" and the breezy setting of "Night and Day" are also enjoyable. Only the brief version of "Carpetbagger's Theme," which seems badly out of place and suggestive of the label's interference with the session, is a bit of a disappointment. Obviously neither Getz nor Evans liked the tune, as they go through the motions in a very brief performance. [Some reissues add three unissued alternate takes, though additional material from the sessions was included in the box set The Complete Bill Evans on Verve.] ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Night and Day - 7:46
  2. 2. But Beautiful - 5:41
  3. 3. Funkallero - 7:41
  4. 4. My Heart Stood Still - 9:37
  5. 5. Melinda - 5:04
  6. 6. Grandfather's Waltz - 6:28
  7. 7. Carpetbagger's Theme - 2:47
  8. 8. WNEW (Theme Song) - 3:50
  9. 9. My Heart Stood Still - 7:46
  10. 10. Grandfather's Waltz - 6:33
  11. 11. Night and Day - 7:35

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews