Product Promotions

25% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you spend $30 (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rprw544964.2


    Stages Reprise
    1. Stages (Jpn)
    2. Stages Reprise
    3. Stages (Dlx) Reprise

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Josh Groban always skirted the edges of middlebrow pop so it's a certain relief to hear the classical singer go all in on 2015's Stages, a tribute to the great songs of the Great White Way. He throws a few movie tunes in for good measure, including the opening "Pure Imagination" from Charlie & The Chocolate Factory and "Over the Rainbow," but the concentration is on A Chorus Line, Les Miserables, The Fantasticks, Into the Woods, and Sunday in the Park with George -- lots of Sondheim, lots of musicals from after the peak of '60s crossover. Nevertheless, in its handsome deliberation, Stages does feel like a throwback to '60s LPs comprised of tunes everybody knows, sung by singers everybody knows. Groban in some ways benefits from a less operatic setting, as it naturally scales back his soaring excess, and the record is also nicely modulated -- a mellow, attractive journey to the middle of the road, a place that seems to suit Groban just fine. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Pure Imagination [From Charlie & The Chocolate Factory] - 4:23
  2. 2. What I Did For Love [From A Chorus Line] - 5:49
  3. 3. Bring Him Home [From Les Misérables] - 3:23
  4. 4. Les Temps Des Cathédrals [From Notre-Dame de Paris] - 4:02
  5. 5. All I Ask From You [From The Phantom of the Opera] - 4:59
  6. 6. Try to Remember [From The Fantasticks] - 5:39
  7. 7. Over the Rainbow [From The Wizard of Oz] - 4:26
  8. 8. Children Will Listen/Not While I'm Around [From Into the Woods/Sweeny Todd] - 5:36
  9. 9. You'll Never Walk Alone [From Carousel] - 4:28
  10. 10. Old Devil Moon [From Finian's Rainbow] - 4:21
  11. 11. Finishing the Hat [From Sunday in the Park with George] - 3:08
  12. 12. If I Loved You [From Carousel] - 4:16
  13. 13. Anthem [From Chess] - 3:27

Product Details

Release Date