Some People Have Real Problems (Aus)


$21.24 $24.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.aisr2701378.2


    Some People Have Real Problems (Aus) Monkey Puzzle
    1. Some People Have Real Problems (Aus) Monkey Puzzle
    2. Some People Have Real Problems (Dig) (Ocrd) Hear Music
    3. Some People Have Real Problems (Ger) Concord

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Some People Have Real Problems is Sia's first release on the Starbucks-affiliated Hear Music label, following acts like Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchell. Given the burst of attention Sia got when her song "Breathe Me" was used to excellent effect in the final scenes of the series finale of the HBO show Six Feet Under, which brought the Australian singer/songwriter to a much wider audience than was familiar with her earlier work with Zero 7 and Massive Attack, it makes perfect sense. With her old-school soul vocal style, with just a hint of roughness under her delicate high-register tones, set against the contemporary sophistication of her music, Sia is exactly the sort of artist a middle-aged Starbucks devotee who wants to remain at least tangentially hip would flock to: if Amy Winehouse did yoga instead of Jack Daniels, she'd sound a lot like Sia. But fans of Sia's earlier releases may well be in for a shock: Some People Have Real Problems sounds like a concerted grab for the Mum Rock demographic, those looking for something to listen to while they're waiting for Corinne Bailey Rae and Regina Spektor to release new albums. Considerably more pop-oriented and uptempo than the chilly electronica that made her name, songs like "Buttons" and "Academia" (one of two songs featuring Beck on harmony vocals; the other, "Death by Chocolate," also features Jason Lee and Giovanni Ribisi) also seem designed to attract the audience that fell for Feist's "1234." It would be easy to condemn Sia for such a naked brass ring grab except for one somewhat surprising point: the change actually suits her. The newly varied arrangements, moods, and textures of this album, from the mournful piano-led cover of the Kinks' "I Go to Sleep" through the horn-based R&B swing of "Electric Bird" to the sarcastic bounce of "The Girl You Lost to Cocaine," make Some People Have Real Problems Sia's most engrossing and satisfying album yet. ~ Stewart Mason

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Little Black Sandals
  2. 2. Lentil
  3. 3. Day Too Soon
  4. 4. You Have Been Loved
  5. 5. Girl You Lost to Cocaine
  6. 6. Academia
  7. 7. I Go to Sleep
  8. 8. Playground
  9. 9. Death by Chocolate
  10. 10. Soon We'll Be Found
  11. 11. Electric Bird
  12. 12. Beautiful Calm Driving
  13. 13. Lullaby

CD: 2

  1. 14. Buttons
  2. 15. Day Too Soon [Lifelike Remix]
  3. 16. Buttons [Chris Lake Remix]
  4. 17. Girl You Lost to Cocaine [Mark Picchiotti Vocal]
  5. 18. Buttons [Jimmy Valance Remix]
  6. 19. Girl You Lost to Cocaine [Stonebridge Vocal]
  7. 20. Buttons [CSS Remix]
  8. 21. Day Too Soon [Tom Neville Night Time Dub]
  9. 22. Day Too Soon [Mock + Toof Remix]

Product Details

Release Date