Into Paradise


aec.dcab000614002.2 2/14/06 New
$10.46 $13.95

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.dcab000614002.2


    Into Paradise Decca

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text If you think you've never heard this classical Norwegian singer, dig into your CD collection and pull out the Titanic soundtrack. Alongside the Oscar-winning Celine Dion tune everyone remembers are tracks and tracks of Sissel's haunting, ethereal vocals illuminating the tragedy of the sinking liner. Over her varied 20-year career, she's sung for queens, princes, Winter Olympics, and Nobel Peace Prize ceremonies -- in addition to dates with Dion and Josh Groban, who in some ways could be considered her American male equivalent. While a brilliant singer of uncommon range and emotional depth, she may have a bit of trouble finding an easy niche because albums like Into Paradise are slightly all over the map. But that's not a bad thing for adventurous listeners who want to take the journey, which runs from Mozart to Bach, Puccini to (and you have to wait until track 12) ABBA ("Like an Angel Passing Through")! Then there are the Norse folk tales, which are obviously close to home. A lack of familiarity with some of the material, however, will help the listener focus on the purity of her voice. The one quality she possesses that some of her pop-classical counterparts don't is restraint, and the production is very focused on her voice rather than on booming production and powerhouse grooves (though she boasts punkers and rappers on her résumé). The collection was recorded in Norway with the internationally renowned Trondheim Soloists. ~ Jonathan Widran

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Folk Tunes (50) from Hardanger, for piano, Op, 150: No. 1, Vél komne med æra (Welcome with Honor) - 3:18
  2. 4. When I am laid in earth (from "Dido and Aeneas"), soprano aria (Dido's Lament), Z. 626/38b - 3:05
  3. 6. Ave Maria, for voice & orchestra (adapted from Intermezzo of "Cavalleria Rusticana") - 3:57
  4. 7. Vitae Lux, song - 4:31
  5. 8. Ingen vinner frem til den evige ro (None shall win eternal peace), hymn - 3:53
  6. 9. Bereden väg för Herran (Prepare the Way for the Lord), hymn - 3:15
  7. 10. I Dreamt I Dwelt in Marble Halls, aria (from "The Bohemian Girl") - 3:56
  8. 11. Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor, T. Mi 26 (composed by Remo Giazotto; not by Albinoni) - 4:02
  9. 12. Like an Angel Passing Through My Room - 5:04
  1. 2. Aria - 6:41
  1. 3. Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme - 3:26
  1. 5. In Paradisum (Into Paradise) - 3:56

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews