Blood Letting 0305


rovi.MR0000424960 3/22/05 Used
$6.79 $7.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000424960


    Blood Letting 0305 Candlelight Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Those who have a limited knowledge of the death metal/black metal field will tell you that all of it sounds alike. But truth be told, death metal has a variety of bands -- some totally extreme, some more melodic and accessible by mainstream standards. Bands that are categorized as melodic death metal (At the Gates and In Flames, for example) have -- much like symphonic black metal artists -- made melody, musicality, and intricacy a priority. On the other hand, grindcore is death metal at its most extreme -- and grindcore is exactly what Severe Torture provide on this live album. Bloodletting is stereotypical grindcore -- harsh, unmusical, amelodic, ultra-fast brutality with twisted lyrics and deep, guttural, growling vocals that usually render those lyrics indecipherable. Stylistically, this Dutch band is right out of Cannibal Corpse and Carcass, and the song titles (which include "Mutilation of the Flesh," "Decomposing Bitch," and "Baptized in Virginal Liquid") thrive on cartoonish shock value. While live material dominates this 2005 release, Bloodletting offers several 1998 demos as bonus tracks -- and whether Severe Torture are live or in the studio, their work is an exercise in bombast for the sake of bombast and shock value for the sake of shock value. Severe Torture's material won't win any awards for originality; anyone who was listening to Cannibal Corpse, Cancer, Necrophagia, Carcass, and/or Deicide back in the late '80s and early '90s will hear Bloodletting and think, "Been there, done that." But the Dutch death metallers are good at what they do, and die-hard grindcore enthusiasts will find Bloodletting to be a decent -- if derivative and totally predictable -- document of Severe Torture on-stage. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Feces for Jesus - 3:25
  2. 2. Baptized in Virginal Liquid - 3:42
  3. 3. Decomposing Bitch - 5:05
  4. 4. Impelled to Kill - 2:11
  5. 5. Mutilation of the Flesh - 3:24
  6. 6. Butchery of the Soul - 4:48
  7. 7. Carnivorous Force - 3:59
  8. 8. Misanthropic Carnage - 5:53
  9. 9. Pray for Nothing - 4:08
  10. 10. Lost Souls - 4:30
  11. 11. Till the End - 3:03
  12. 12. Severe Torture - 2:12
  13. 13. Baptized in Virginal Liquid - 3:37
  14. 14. Lambs of a God - 2:28
  15. 15. Taking Down the Descender - 4:02

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews