Buzz...Sound Of Nation's


rovi.MR0000844386 8/22/00 Used
$1.19 $1.49

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000844386


    Buzz...Sound Of Nation's Ultra Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text For his first widely distributed mix album, longtime Washington D.C. icon Scott Henry lays down a trendy set of pumping progressive house tracks that often creeps close into trance territory. The inclusion of so many updated dance classics -- Green Velvet's "Flash," Lil Louis' "French Kiss," Hashim's "Al-Naafiysh" -- and such a heavy amount of Timo Mass remixes -- four of the 15 tracks -- are what makes this album so trendy; it's hard to think that such an emphasis on of-the-moment anthems will endure over time. Still, if one looks past Henry's populist stance, this set really gets off to a wonderful beginning: a three track run of Green Velvet's "Flash (Timo Maas' Dirty Dub)," Josh Wink featuring Lil Louis' "How's Your Evening So Far," and Oliver Lieb's "Metro (US Mix)." Following this run of peak-hour intensity, the album dies down a bit, gaining steam again at the conclusion when Henry drops KillaHurtz's "West on 27th (A Tribe Called KHz Mix)," a mammoth progressive house track, followed by yet another Maas remix. If only Henry could maintain the energy that the album's start emanates, this would be an amazing mix; unfortunately, he can't. Furthermore, the fact that he relies so much on updated versions of already-proven classics -- "Flash" and "French Kiss" -- also cheapens the thrill a bit. Yet, in the end, newcomers that may not be familiar with these tracks should be blown away, and one can't help but feel that Henry is catering to a more populist crowd here. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Luvstruck - 6:55
  2. 2. Flash - 4:07
  3. 3. How's Your Evening So Far - 7:54
  4. 4. Metro - 5:59
  5. 5. Overdose - 3:36
  6. 6. Al-Naafiysh (The Soul) - 6:18
  7. 7. Supertransonic - 5:10
  8. 8. Release - 4:35
  9. 9. Overflow - 5:01
  10. 10. Don't Laugh - 5:52
  11. 11. Substance - 4:12
  12. 12. Free at Last - 5:46
  13. 13. Pray to Jerusalem - 6:47
  14. 14. West on 27th - 6:57
  15. 15. Mama Konda - 4:19

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews