Livin' On The Run 0205


rovi.MR0000426586 2/22/05 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000426586


    Livin' On The Run 0205 Big Deal Records / Velocity Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Although he's best known today for his acting roles in the television series Band of Brothers and ER, Scott Grimes has actually been a working musician since the late '80s, when his first album was released. His long-delayed sophomore effort finds him continuing to refine a sound that makes up in sheer hooks for what it lacks in originality. Grimes has no pretensions here, which is refreshing, and he wears his influences on his sleeve, which is a bit less refreshing but works well for him nonetheless: you'll hear a hint of Bryan Adams here, what sounds like a muscled-up REO Speedwagon outtake there, and when he's at his most derivative (on the invigorating "Around and Around"), more than a subtle hint of Billy Joel. But at his best you don't really notice the influences because you become so thoroughly caught up in the feelings he conveys and so entranced by his effortless way with a hook. Those moments come most forcefully on the emotional heartland rock of the title track and the even better "Summerthing," one of the most ecstatic driving songs you're ever likely to hear. Yes, Grimes has a minor cliché problem -- song titles include "I Wanna Be There," "Rock'n'Roll Girl," and "Best Days of My Life," and if you think you can imagine the sound and tempo of each of those songs just from reading the titles, you're right. But you'll get a big kick out of them anyway. Recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Livin' on the Run - 6:14
  2. 2. Sunset Blvd. - 5:38
  3. 3. I Saw You - 5:08
  4. 4. Best Days of My Life - 5:44
  5. 5. You Come Around - 5:57
  6. 6. Carrie - 5:44
  7. 7. I Wanna Be There - 5:43
  8. 8. Summerthing - 3:14
  9. 9. There Ain't Nothin' - 6:35
  10. 10. Rock 'N' Roll Girl - 5:44
  11. 11. Around and Around - 5:21
  12. 12. Without You - 4:22
  13. 13. Hollywood Sign - 5:59
  14. 14. Four-Piece Band (Those Were the Days) - 5:51
  15. 15. Finale - 3:37

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews