Best Of The Savoy Doucet Cajun Band


aec.arh500.2 10/8/02 New
$11.89 $13.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.arh500.2


    Best Of The Savoy Doucet Cajun Band Arhoolie

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text This Savoy-Doucet Cajun Band greatest-hits compilation was culled from four previous albums on Arhoolie. The performers are the undisputed masters of Cajun music, as one familiar with the genre already knows prior to picking up the album. It's generally a loping bit of work on some vaguely scratchy fiddle tunes, with the constant strum from Ann Savoy in the background. Marc Savoy's accordion work is perhaps some of the most outstanding Cajun accordion one will hear, though it's relatively rare for him to go out on a major solo run here, preferring to stick with the other players more often. On the whole, it's an entirely worthwhile album for fans of the genre or of the group, as the bandmembers work through a number of old songs from the traditional books and the old masters of the genre, as well as a few slightly newer numbers written to sound like the old forms. This is music more complex than the Savoys can make on their own, and out of the comfort zone for Michael Doucet's usual ventures with Beausoleil. Pick it up for a nice look at the work that the Savoys have done alongside Doucet, and a nice overview of the old Cajun forms, both slow and quick. ~ Adam Greenberg

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Quelle Etoile (Which Star) - 3:24
  2. 2. Valse de Vachers (The Cowboy Waltz) - 4:19
  3. 3. Perrodin Two-Step - 4:29
  4. 4. Kaplan Waltz - 4:05
  5. 5. Chère Bassette - 3:59
  6. 6. One-Step de Chameau - 4:02
  7. 7. Jolies Joues Roses (Pretty Pink Cheeks) - 4:47
  8. 8. Happy One Step - 2:37
  9. 9. Reno Waltz - 4:42
  10. 10. Port Arthur Blues - 3:23
  11. 11. Attention, C'est Mon Coeur Qui Va Casser (Be Careful, You're ...) - 4:18
  12. 12. Amédé Two-Step (Two Step for Amédé Ardoin) - 6:32
  13. 13. Lawtell Waltz - 4:41
  14. 14. Valse du Malchanceux (The Unlucky Waltz) - 5:16
  15. 15. Lapin Dans Son Nique (Rabbit in Its Nest) - 4:21
  16. 16. She Made Me Lose My Mind - 3:16
  17. 17. 'Tits Yeux Noirs (Little Black Eyes) - 4:53
  18. 18. Gros Guime a Sam (Sam's Big Rooster) - 4:00
  19. 19. Good-Bye, Yeux Bruns (Good-Bye, Brown Eyes) - 3:52

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews