$11.99 $13.98

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.atl562627.2


    Savage Atlantic / R&B Money
    1. Savage Atlantic / R&B Money
    2. Savage (Cln) Atlantic

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The follow-up to Sex Love & Pain II, Savage marks the second time Durrell Babbs has released solo albums in consecutive years. He hadn't done it since his first two full-lengths came out in 2001 and 2002. Capitalizing on the commercial momentum of three straight number one R&B/hip-hop chart-toppers, Babbs refers to the previous set's "She wit the S***" and "I Love Ya" as the explicit, trap-styled template for the majority of these subtlety-free tracks. He does it with a large group of beatmakers completely different from the cast on Sex Love & Pain II, including Cardiak, Swiff D, and Stronger contributors Da Internz, as well as a bunch of newcomers. Lyrically, this is true to the title in its single-minded forcefulness -- materialistic propositions that reduce romance to a financial transaction, vows to beat it up, boxing metaphors, police detainment fantasies with actual cuffing, the works. There are sleek, steely, predominantly lurching beats to match, with Babbs occasionally adopting a vocal approach akin to significantly younger, less technically proficient vocalists like Future and Migos. The singer even has some fun with the terminology, detachedly boasting in the opener, "I'm a real fuckin' trapper/Once I set the trap, I be fuckin' somethin' after." Babbs is genuinely plugged into the material with a voice at full, commanding power. ~ Andy Kellman

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Savage - 3:59
  2. 2. Everything - 4:04
  3. 3. Do for Me - 4:55
  4. 4. Only One - 3:57
  5. 5. You Belong to Me - 3:29
  6. 6. Good Thing - 4:36
  7. 7. Sexy - 5:30
  8. 8. When We - 5:09
  9. 9. Fit Up - 4:23
  10. 10. Nothing On - 5:20
  11. 11. Stay Where You Are - 4:34

Product Details

Release Date