Who Knows Where The Time Goes: The Early Years


aec.cst1181.2 11/22/05 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cst1181.2


    Who Knows Where The Time Goes: The Early Years Castle Music Ltd. / Sanctuary / Sanctuary Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text It is astonishing that it has taken this long -- over 15 years -- to assemble the early Sandy Denny sides in one place, on the same CD, from proper tape sources and in their basic undubbed form. Across the decades most of it has appeared somewhere, originally scattered across several late-'60s and early-'70s LPs linking Denny with other artists, but this is the first time it's come down to listeners all in one sitting, the way it was recorded, without a platter change to be made, and no tracks given over to anyone else. The first thing that longtime fans will note is the extent with which the CD seems to overlap with innumerable Sandy Denny compilations devoted to her early work that have appeared in the past. The difference here is that the producer, Clinton Heylin, was working with a clearer idea of what was needed (and what he wanted) and better tape sources, and was thus able to give listeners something that is well-nigh perfect. And so it opens with an undubbed version of "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" by Sandy Denny and the Strawbs, and the CD also includes the companion recording from the same May 1967 body of work, her original rendition of Strawbs leader Dave Cousins' "Two Weeks Last Summer." For those who endured the dubious sound quality of Mooncrest's releases of Denny's renditions of "Pretty Polly," etc., this release also makes up for those imperfections and then some -- the sound throughout is close and crisp, with the lush guitar sounds on "Milk and Honey" and "My Ramblin' Boy" resonating out beautifully, and without a trace of a vinyl source anywhere. The first dozen tracks are effectively master takes, while the next six are alternate versions that are sufficiently different to impress more than just the obvious Denny completists, and the disc concludes with her duet rendition of "Been on the Road So Long" with Alex Campbell, in tandem with whom some of this material was originally released on vinyl. Of course, those who already own 2004's five-CD A Boxful of Treasures have some of what's here in perfectly good form, but for a long, close look at Denny from the outset of her career, this is the next place to stop on one's trip across her career, and it fits in beautifully with the expanded versions of her solo albums (and the Fotheringay CD) that have been appearing since 2003. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Who Knows Where the Time Goes - 4:13
  2. 2. This Train - 2:05
  3. 3. 3: 10 to Yuma - 4:37
  4. 4. Pretty Polly - 3:58
  5. 5. You Never Wanted Me - 3:21
  6. 6. Milk and Honey - 4:22
  7. 7. My Ramblin' Boy - 4:42
  8. 8. Last Thing on My Mind - 4:32
  9. 9. Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor - 3:19
  10. 10. False Bride - 4:37
  11. 11. Been on the Road So Long - 5:01
  12. 12. Two Weeks Last Summer - 2:03
  13. 13. 3: 10 to Yuma [Superior Re-Record] - 3:22
  14. 14. Pretty Polly [Superior Re-Record] - 3:37
  15. 15. Milk and Honey [Superior Re-Record] - 5:30
  16. 16. Last Thing on My Mind [Superior Re-Record] - 3:25
  17. 17. Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor [Superior Re-Record] - 3:10
  18. 18. Been on the Road So Long - 4:42

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews