Funkiest Man Alive: Stax Funk Sessions 1967 1975


aec.stx8611.2 8/19/03 New

Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.stx8611.2


    Funkiest Man Alive: Stax Funk Sessions 1967 1975 Stax

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Originally released in the UK in 2002 under the title The Funkiest Man, this compilation came out in the U.S. in 2003 with the slightly different title Funkiest Man Alive. The tracks, song sequence, and liner notes on each release were identical, though the cover art was different. It gathers 18 of Rufus Thomas' funk-oriented songs from 1967-1975, though only a few '60s sides are here. His biggest funk hit of all, "Do the Funky Chicken," is not here, and though the liners point out that the song is available on other Stax compilations, why not put it on here anyway? In its favor, there's little overlap between this anthology and the Stax CD Funky Chicken, a reissue of his 1969 LP Do the Funky Chicken with seven bonus tracks from his 1968-1974 singles. This also has his three big followup hits to "Do the Funky Chicken": "(Do The) Push and Pull (Part 1)," "Do the Funky Penguin (Part 1)," and "The Breakdown (Part 1)." To its detriment, however, the novelty dance funk grooves just get unimaginative, even monotonous, in such a concentrated dose, getting into spin-offs like "Funky Robot (Part 1)," "Do the Double Bump," "The Funky Bird," "Funky Mississippi," and so forth. Rufus Thomas is cool, but he's not James Brown (though the scratchy guitar and jerky rhythms of 1972's "Itch and Scratch (Part 1)" certainly owe a lot to Brown), nor are the backup musicians. When it stretches back as far as 1967 for "Sophisticated Cissy," there's a refreshing injection of more soul-grounded chops, female backup vocals, and horns. Two of the songs, "I'm Getting Better" and "Memphis Train '75," were previously unreleased in the US. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Funkiest Man Alive - 8:49
  2. 2. Give Me the Green Light - 7:34
  3. 3. Itch and Scratch, Pt.1 - 3:14
  4. 4. Turn Your Damper Down - 3:51
  5. 5. Funky Hot Grits - 5:29
  6. 6. I'm Getting Better - 6:08
  7. 7. Sophisticated Sissy - 3:45
  8. 8. Funky Mississippi - 3:00
  9. 9. Git on Up and Do It - 3:50
  10. 10. Breakdown, Pt.1 - 3:21
  11. 11. (Do The ) Push and Pull, Pt.1 - 3:20
  12. 12. Do the Funky Penguin, Pt.1 - 3:10
  13. 13. Do the Double Bump - 3:08
  14. 14. Funky Robot, Pt.1 - 3:43
  15. 15. Memphis Train '75 - 5:57
  16. 16. Let the Good Times Roll - 4:38
  17. 17. Funky Bird - 3:27
  18. 18. Rock Me Back (aka Rock Back) - 5:24

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews