Live At North Sea Jazz Festival (Ger)


aec.uvis5194462.2 6/7/05 New
$12.74 $14.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.uvis5194462.2


    Live At North Sea Jazz Festival (Ger) Polygram / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text The Rosenberg Trio continues the tradition of the Gypsy swing of the Quintet of the Hot Club of France, though in a stripped-down format consisting of lead guitar (Stochelo Rosenberg), rhythm guitar (Nous'che Rosenberg), and bass (Nonnie Rosenberg). While the trio successfully delves into the 1930s repertoire of Stéphane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt, including a vigorous workout of their "Minor Swing" and a lyrical setting of "Nuages," along with swing tunes from the era, they are very open to other styles. Their rapid-fire take of Sonny Rollins' "Pent-Up House" (a favorite of Grappelli during the 1970s) and an engaging take of Kenny Dorham's "Blue Bossa" demonstrate their ability to convert bop vehicles into Gypsy swing, something they accomplish equally well with the music of Chick Corea. While the Rosenberg Trio gained some international exposure by appearing on a CD with Grappelli late in his career, this exciting live disc is additional proof that they deserve greater worldwide exposure, especially outside of Europe. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. For Sephora
  2. 2. Minor Swing
  3. 3. Les Yeux Noirs
  4. 4. Chega de Saudade
  5. 5. BeBop
  6. 6. Bossa Dorado
  7. 7. Pent-up House
  8. 8. Avalon
  9. 9. Nuages
  10. 10. Honeysuckle Rose
  11. 11. La Gitana
  12. 12. Armando's Rumba
  13. 13. Blue Bossa
  14. 14. Swing de Paris
  15. 15. Les Feuilles Mortes
  16. 16. Spain
  17. 17. Sweet Georgia Brown

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews