Rompe Discotekas


aec.defb000688802.2 6/27/06 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.defb000688802.2


    Rompe Discotekas Goldstar / IDJ Records / Island/Def Jam / Roc la Familia / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text There were a lot of reggaeton releases in 2006, yet few were as curious and promising as Los Rompe Discotekas, a CD mixtape presented by Hector Bambino "El Father" and Roc la Familia. The latter is indeed a Latino branch of Roc-a-Fella, the longtime powerhouse label headed by Jay-Z that splintered when he became president of Def Jam. This seemed to be a power move of many major urban labels in 2006 -- get a piece of the reggaeton market, quickly -- with, for example, Diddy branching off Bad Boy into the exploding Latino sector as well (or at least announcing that he planned to do so). It's easy to view such moves cynically, as business-only practices that care just about the resulting return on investment, not the actual music and the cultural aspects being appropriated. Well, one listen to Los Rompe Discotekas dashes such cynicism in this instance. Even if it is the product of The Island Def Jam Music Group, one of the largest conglomerates in the industry, Los Rompe Discotekas is an outstanding reggaeton release, one of the best of the year. It'd be interesting to learn how much involvement Jay-Z had in this project beyond his lazily phoned-in hook for the lead single, "Here We Go Yo" (where he's billed as El Presidente). He's not credited as executive producer (that would be Juan Perez), so it's plausible he and his people wisely kept their hands out of this project, letting the reggaeton guys have full creative control. Hector has the lead role as host, but he's featured in less than a half-dozen of the 15 tracks. So Los Rompe Discotekas is essentially a mixtape, with various artists getting shots to shine, among them such major players as Wisin & Yandel, Alexis & Fido, and Don Omar. The production is split almost entirely between Mekka and the Luny Tunes collective. English-language features by Fat Joe, Memphis Bleek, and Freeway are quite effective. There aren't any true standout tracks; each is first-rate by 2006 standards, and the highlights tend to be those featuring the more prominent names. Lastly, it's worth mentioning that this album -- unlike the similar Luny Tunes albums -- runs only 53 minutes, which for a change is refreshing, as this music is mighty intense, with its fast tempo and relentlessly hard-hitting beats. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Intro - 5:22
  2. 2. Here We Go Yo - 3:22
  3. 3. Yomo Dele - 3:10
  4. 4. Telefono - 4:56
  5. 5. Cama - 3:29
  6. 6. Sigue Ahi - 4:49
  7. 7. Dejate Llevar - 3:25
  8. 8. Ahora Son Mejor - 3:01
  9. 9. Tiburon - 4:51
  10. 10. Eje - 3:51
  11. 11. Sonando - 4:00
  12. 12. Piyala - 3:24
  13. 13. Duro Mueven - 3:48
  14. 14. Duro - 3:47
  15. 15. Vengan Donde Mi - 4:24

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews