Solos (Hybr)


aec.sgls1550sacd 12/14/04 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sgls1550sacd


    Solos (Hybr) Songlines Recordings

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Strange as it may seem, neither Wayne Horvitz nor Robin Holcomb have released an album of solo piano music, though Holcomb came pretty close on Little Three (two vocal tracks disqualify it as solo piano). Solos doesn't exactly qualify either, as it's a split release, but the similarity of their styles makes for an excellent program. If you didn't know, Holcomb and Horvitz have been married for more than 20 years, and Horvitz admits to a certain corniness surrounding the concept of a married couple releasing an album of solo pieces together. But the beauty of the music relegates the corny aspect to little more than curiosity. Both players share similarities, though Horvitz's style outwardly shows more of a blues influence than Holcomb. The pieces here are all gentle and introspective, with silence playing an especially important role in Holcomb's playing. The recording itself is exquisite, and the disc is encoded not only for compact disc players, but also Super-Audio and a Surround Sound mix. Every nuance of the performance is captured in fabulous detail. Solos shows a different side to each of these players than their usual output, particularly in Horvitz's case, but there is no denying the beauty of this recording. Excellent. ~ Sean Westergaard

Track Listing


  1. 1. Reno - 4:16
  2. 2. Tired - 4:44
  3. 3. Armageddon - 5:10
  4. 4. Pleasures of Motion - 2:28
  5. 5. Joanna's Solo - 3:11
  6. 6. Before the Comet Comes - 13:14
  7. 7. Stars Fell on Alabama - 3:50
  8. 8. Interpretation #1 - 3:31
  9. 9. Road to Zamora - 2:56
  10. 10. Buttermilk Hill - 6:46
  11. 11. Up Do - 2:51
  12. 12. Interpretation #2 - 3:52
  13. 13. Done For - 3:22
  14. 14. Crispin and Lisa's Duet - 4:01

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews