Regulate G Funk Era



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.def523335.2


    Regulate G Funk Era Def Jam
    1. Regulate G Funk Era Def Jam
    2. Regulate: G Funk Era (20 Th Anniversary Edition) Def Jam
    3. Regulate...G Funk Era (Bonus Track) (Jpn)
    4. Regulate G Funk Era (Uk) Def Jam / Island / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Anchored by the laid-back G-funk anthem "Regulate," Warren G's appropriately titled Regulate...G Funk Era embodies the mid-'90s era of Cali sunshine, endless blunts, and switch-hittin' lowriders with a welcome and somewhat surprising sense of kind-heartedness. Unlike most of his West Coast G-funk peers, Warren doesn't celebrate drive-by gang-bangin', dirty-money stackin', nor G's-up, hoes-down pimpin'. Sure, he says the F word once in a while and puffs on the cheeba-cheeba when it's passed his way, but he's essentially a good-natured, all-ages rapper, interested in nothing more than good ol'-fashioned hip-hop. He professes his demeanor succinctly on the catchy hook to "This DJ," the other era-defining highlight here: "It's kinda easy when you're listening to the G-ed-up sound/Pioneer speakers bumpin' as I smoke on a pound/I got the sound fo yo' ass and it's easy to see/That this DJ be Warren G." Like his stepbrother Dr. Dre, Warren is a more talented producer than rapper, and it's his by-the-book G-funk beat-making that truly shines here. For instance, another album highlight, "Do You See," boasts an elastic bassline and whistling synth hook, capturing the essence of G-funk as only Dre himself could. Warren further compensates for his middling rapping with a couple of guests, a few skits, and a brief running time. Even if "Regulate" and "This DJ" tower far above everything else here, Regulate...G Funk Era is nonetheless a minor gem among the myriad G-funk albums of the mid-'90s, and Warren embodies the style itself here with a precision perhaps second only to his older brother and does so with a refreshing air of harmlessness. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Regulate - 4:08
  2. 2. Do You See - 4:59
  3. 3. Gangsta Sermon - 1:36
  4. 4. Recognize - 3:59
  5. 5. Super Soul Sis - 3:56
  6. 6. '94 Ho Draft - 1:00
  7. 7. So Many Ways - 3:24
  8. 8. This D.J. - 3:23
  9. 9. This Is the Shack - 4:05
  10. 10. What's Next - 3:26
  11. 11. And Ya Don't Stop - 3:22
  12. 12. Runnin' Wit No Breaks - 4:32

Product Details

Release Date