Christmas Songs With The Ray Brown Trio


aec.tlr83437.2 9/28/99 New
$10.18 $11.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.tlr83437.2


    Christmas Songs With The Ray Brown Trio Telarc

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship due to frequent stock outages.


Review Text Ray Brown finally got around to producing a Christmas CD and it was worth the wait. The great bassist has seven guest vocalists plus features for tenor saxophonist Ralph Moore and guitarist Russell Malone; his gifted trio includes pianist Geoff Keezer and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Dee Dee Bridgewater at first sings "Away in a Manger" in a traditional vein with only Keezer's fluid piano accompanying her, but Brown's arrangement evolves into a swinging gospel setting. "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town" showcases Diana Krall in a saucy, recurring call and response with Brown in a bluesy take. Kevin Mahogany is the vocal equivalent of an open fire on a cold night during "Christmas Song," which also has a nice solo by Russell Malone. Hutchinson does a humorous vocal rap on "The Christmas Rap," a funky original by Brown. Vanessa Rubin, Etta Jones, Marlena Shaw, and Nancy King also each add a distinct individual touch to a holiday favorite. The highlights among the instrumentals begin with a rather unique marchlike cadence that evolves into a Baroque fugue to introduce the centuries-old "God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen," featuring Keezer's tremendous chops. Ralph Moore's hard-blowing tenor sax is the centerpiece of "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer." Liner note writer Jon W. Poses' assertion that "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" is "the trio's best improvisational vehicle" is difficult to debate. Even though the songs have been recorded countless times over the decades, Ray Brown's crisp and innovative arrangements and his brilliant choice of supporting musicians and singers make this Christmas CD one for the ages. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Away In a Manger - 6:50
  2. 2. Santa Claus is Coming To Town - 3:08
  3. 3. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen - 4:37
  4. 4. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear - 4:59
  5. 5. Little Drummer Boy - 4:15
  6. 6. The Christmas Song - 4:06
  7. 7. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer - 4:12
  8. 8. Winter Wonderland - 3:08
  9. 9. We Wish You a Merry Christmas - 3:48
  10. 10. O Tannenbaum - 5:00
  11. 11. Jingle Bells - 4:13
  12. 12. White Christmas - 5:58
  13. 13. The Christmas Rap - 3:30

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews