aec.emii789498.2 1/1/08 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.emii789498.2


    Works EMI / EMI Music Distribution
    1. Works EMI / EMI Music Distribution
    2. Works Hollywood
    3. Works (Rmst) Island
    4. Works (Bonus Cd) (Bonus Tracks) (Dlx) (Rmst) Island
    5. Works (Shm) (Jpn) Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text Following the disappointing commercial performance of the dance-oriented Hot Space in 1982, Queen took 1983 off to get refocused and work on a follow-up that would put the band back on track. While the songwriting had definitely improved on the resulting The Works in 1984, the album sonically lacked the punch of such earlier releases as News of the World and The Game (strangely, Hot Space even had a better overall sound). Although the album only peaked at number 23 on the U.S. album charts, it was a Top Ten hit in just about every other area of the world, producing the huge single "Radio Ga Ga." Three other tracks were hits in Queen's native England -- the uplifting "I Want to Break Free," the love song "It's a Hard Life," and the politically conscious rocker "Hammer to Fall," which dealt with the danger of nuclear weapons. Other highlights included the '50s-sounding "Man on the Prowl," the electronic experiment "Machines," the thunderous "Tear It Up," and a touching acoustic ballad, "Is This the World We Created...?" Perhaps with a more straight-ahead production (and a U.S. tour), The Works would have landed Queen back on the top of the charts stateside. ~ Greg Prato

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Radio Ga Ga - 6:49
  2. 2. Tear It Up - 3:28
  3. 3. It's a Hard Life - 4:08
  4. 4. Man on the Prowl - 3:28
  5. 5. Machines (Back to Humans) - 5:10
  6. 6. I Want to Break Free - 3:20
  7. 7. Keep Passing the Open Windows - 5:21
  8. 8. Hammer to Fall - 4:28
  9. 9. Is This the World We Created...? - 2:13

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews