Amplified 1199


fye.000000400034051236 11/23/99 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400034051236


    Amplified 1199 Arista
    1. Amplified 1199 Arista
    2. Amplified(Clean) 1199 Arista

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Just over a year after A Tribe Called Quest issued its final album, the group's nominal frontman Q-Tip issued his debut solo album, Amplified. For Tribe fans able to get over the fact that Q-Tip isn't trading off on rhymes with Phife Dog and Ali as usual, Amplified is an excellent work, almost up to the same level as the group's underrated final Jive album, The Love Movement. The sound here is very similar to The Love Movement, obviously no coincidence since production credits throughout go to Jay Dee and Q-Tip for the Ummah, the same combo that produced most of A Tribe Called Quest's material. It's a style that emphasizes deep grooves and clipped beats with a polished sheen that takes Tribe's jazz-rap into the age of quiet storm and fusion. Q-Tip's rapping is as smooth and inventive as ever, though it's a mild surprise that he doesn't include any message tracks (most Tribe albums have at least one or two). The band's breakup was a blow to hip-hop fans all over the world, but Amplified will make everyone feel much better. ~ John Bush

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Wait Up - 4:43
  2. 2. Higher - 4:30
  3. 3. Breathe and Stop - 4:03
  4. 4. Moving With U - 3:22
  5. 5. Let's Ride - 4:07
  6. 6. Things U Do - 4:06
  7. 7. All In - 3:08
  8. 8. Go Hard - 3:02
  9. 9. Do It - 3:51
  10. 10. Vivrant Thing - 3:11
  11. 11. N.T. - 4:54
  12. 12. End of Time - 9:33
  13. 13. Do It, See It, Be It

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews