Pretenders Ii 0187


rovi.MR0001165837 8/15/81 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001165837


    Pretenders Ii 0187 Sire
    1. Pretenders Ii (Uk) Edsel
    2. Pretenders Ii 0187 Sire
    3. Pretenders Ii(Exp&Rem(2 Cd Rhino
    4. Sacd Pretenders Ii Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    5. Pretenders Ii 511 Rhino / Sire / Warner Bros.

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Pretenders' debut album was such a powerful, monumental record that its sequel was bound to be a bit of a disappointment, and Pretenders II is. Essentially, this album is an unabashed sequel, offering more of the same sound, attitude, and swagger, including titles that seem like rips on their predecessors and another Ray Davies cover. This gives the record a bit too much of a pat feeling, especially since the band seems to have a lost a bit of momentum -- they don't rock as hard, Chrissie Hynde's songwriting isn't as consistent, James Honeyman-Scott isn't as inventive or clever. These all are disappointments, yet this first incarnation of the Pretenders was a tremendous band, and even if they offer diminished returns, it's still diminished returns on good material, and much of Pretenders II is quite enjoyable. Yes, it's a little slicker and more stylized than its predecessor, and, yes, there's a little bit of filler, yet any album where rockers as tough as "Message of Love" and "The Adultress" are balanced by a pop tune as lovely as "Talk of the Town" is hard to resist. And when you realize that this fantastic band only recorded two albums, you take that second album, warts and all, because the teaming of Hynde and Honeyman-Scott was one of the great pairs, and it's utterly thrilling to hear them together, even when the material isn't quite up to the high standards they set the first time around. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Adultress - 4:55
  2. 2. Bad Boys Get Spanked - 4:04
  3. 3. Message of Love - 3:26
  4. 4. I Go to Sleep - 3:55
  5. 5. Birds of Paradise - 4:14
  6. 6. Talk of the Town - 3:45
  7. 7. Pack It Up - 4:50
  8. 8. Waste Not, Want Not - 4:43
  9. 9. Day After Day - 4:45
  10. 10. Jealous Dogs - 6:36
  11. 11. English Roses - 4:28
  12. 12. Louie, Louie - 4:30

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews