Censored Colors (Dig)


aec.eqv153.2 9/16/08 New
$11.19 $13.99

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.eqv153.2


    Censored Colors (Dig) Equal Vision

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Wasilla, AK, received a great deal of attention in 2008 as the city where VP candidate Sarah Palin once served as mayor, and as a place with a terrible crystal meth problem. Wasilla is also the city that gave listeners Portugal. The Man -- an alternative pop/rock outfit that has had a lot of potential but hasn't always been consistent. Censored Colors, it turns out, is their most consistent and memorable album (certainly as of 2008), and this 53-minute CD finds Portugal. The Man sounding more focused and decisive without sacrificing their experimental nature. The Alaskans have tried different things on different releases; on Censored Colors, their approach is best described as alternative pop/rock with theatrical leanings and elements of progressive rock, psychedelic rock, and soul. Rock musicals are an influence -- Portugal. The Man's members sound like have been checking out Tommy and Hair -- as are artists ranging from Pink Floyd to Radiohead to the Beatles (the gift that keeps on giving). But Portugal. The Man never sound confused on Censored Colors; they had some growing and developing to do, and they show a lot of growth as a band on this 2008 release. That is not to say that Censored Colors isn't self-indulgent at times, but the album's excesses are not a major problem -- and overall, Censored Colors leaves listeners with a favorable impression of the band. Censored Colors is a definite step forward for Portugal. The Man. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Part I: The Colors - 4:49
  2. 2. Lay Me Back Down - 5:02
  3. 3. Colors - 6:39
  4. 4. And I - 4:17
  5. 5. Salt - 3:52
  6. 6. Created - 5:46
  7. 7. Out and in and in and Out - 2:49
  8. 8. (Intermission) - 5:03
  9. 9. Part II: The Twenty-Five - 4:46
  10. 10. New Orleans - 1:20
  11. 11. Never Pleased - 3:34
  12. 12. Sit Back and Dream - 2:45
  13. 13. Hard Times and Our Times - 4:46
  14. 14. All Mine - 4:12
  15. 15. 1989/Our Way - 3:31

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews