Canciones De Amor 0101


rovi.MR0001908919 1/23/01 Used
$0.74 $0.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001908919


    Canciones De Amor 0101 EMI Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text This compilation of love songs sung by the world-class opera superstar draws from 1989-1994 and highlights the unique reality that his overwhelming voice comes across most convincingly on songs in his native Spanish. His vocals flow freely over a gentle orchestral wind and subtle acoustic guitar on a medley of "Sabra Dios/Un Minuto de Amor/Sabo a Mi," for instance. But the English lyrics to the lushly arranged "Somewhere My Love" seem muddled and fuzzy. His twist on "El Condor Pasa" comes off as revealing and emotional, while "Over the Rainbow" (in English) is a bit pretentious and melodramatic. This sort of dichotomy characterizes the disc, which features stunning orchestral arrangements by Bebu Silvetti and the team of Boris Jojic and Laszlo Bencker. The songs here cover a full range of emotions, from love and weeping to languishing nostalgia and playful rhythm, but, again, there's that language barrier. Isn't it more romantic to seduce your lover with a singer generating emotions in his own language? ~ Jonathan Widran

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Be My Love - 3:11
  2. 2. Aquellos Ojos Verdes - 4:51
  3. 3. Sabras Que Te Quiero - 4:40
  4. 4. Maria Elena/Corazon Corazon/Fina Estampa - 5:43
  5. 5. En Aranjuez con Tu Amor - 3:49
  6. 6. Nosotros/Contigo/Sin Ti - 6:46
  7. 7. Sabra Dios/Un Minuto de Amor/Sabor a Mi - 6:28
  8. 8. De Mexico a Buenos Aires - 3:08
  9. 9. Alfonsina y el Mar/Gracias a la Vida - 5:55
  10. 10. El Condor Pasa - 3:02
  11. 11. Capullito de Alheli/Cuando Calienta el Sol/Guantanamera - 5:22
  12. 12. Bahia/Copacabana - 4:51
  13. 13. Alma Latino - 4:04
  14. 14. O Sole Mio - 3:57

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews