aec.hiho4192.2 8/21/07 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.hiho4192.2


    Stab Hi Horse Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Ever wonder what the Misfits would sound like if they were a bluegrass band? Yeah, probably not, but that's a pretty good capsule description of Stab!, the second album by San Francisco-based "horrorbilly" act the Pine Box Boys. Lead singer Lester Raww's comically splatteriffic lyrics (the opening title track is a giddy first-person celebration of the joys of being a serial killer) are set to manic acoustic rockabilly tunes pitched somewhere between Hasil Adkins and the Bloodshot Records catalog. From the old English murder ballads to the Cramps, this sort of thing has always had a place in country and rockabilly music, and the Pine Box Boys are simply taking the idea to its logical conclusion. The humorless may well balk at the fairly explicit misogyny of tunes like "West Memphis Daddy" (with its opening line "She's outta range/I can't shoot that far"), but the songs are so EC Comics cartoonish that it's difficult to take them at all seriously. That caveat aside, Stab! is a hoot for psychobilly fans. ~ Stewart Mason

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Stab - 3:44
  2. 2. Crow - 3:00
  3. 3. West Memphis Daddy - 2:08
  4. 4. Tardy Hearse - 4:11
  5. 5. Will You Remember Me? - 4:30
  6. 6. I Got Excited - 3:03
  7. 7. Garden of Stars - 4:54
  8. 8. Wedding Gown - 5:24
  9. 9. More Pride Than Priors - 3:17
  10. 10. Prester John in Appalachia - 3:51
  11. 11. Mr. Skeleton - 3:57
  12. 12. Rattling Chains - 4:38
  13. 13. Great Journey - 3:50

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews