Phenomenal Ruthie Foster



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.blcr70602.2


    Phenomenal Ruthie Foster Blue Corn Music
    1. Phenomenal Ruthie Foster Blue Corn Music
    2. Phenomenal Ruthie Foster (Uk) Proper Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship due to frequent stock outages.


Review Text Ruthie Foster's fifth CD features the singer moving away from her usual genre of modern folk music into soul. While she performs selections by Son House and Sister Rosetta Tharpe and there are bluesy performances, most of the numbers are of more recent vintage. Her powerful voice, which infuses secular music with the power and emotions of gospel, is heard throughout in prime form and she makes a particularly powerful statement on "People Grinnin' in Your Face." Throughout this set, Ruthie Foster sounds a bit like a young Aretha Franklin (although not copying her) and gives one the impression that she could sing in any idiom that interested her. The Phenomenal Ruthie Foster is a strong example of her musical talents. ~ Scott Yanow

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. 'Cuz I'm Here - 3:06
  2. 2. Heal Yourself - 5:32
  3. 3. Fruits of My Labor - 5:40
  4. 4. People Grinnin' in Your Face - 3:21
  5. 5. Up Above My Head (I Hear Music in the Air) - 4:45
  6. 6. Harder Than the Fall - 4:30
  7. 7. Beaver Creek Blues - 4:55
  8. 8. Mama Said - 5:00
  9. 9. Phenomenal Woman - 4:23
  10. 10. Friend Like You - 4:43
  11. 11. I Don't Know What to Do with My Heart - 4:28

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products