Penthouse Players Paid Th


rovi.MR0001909634 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001909634


    Penthouse Players Paid Th Priority Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Penthouse Players Clique wasn't a full-time group, but rather, they were a studio project boasting such well-known gangsta rappers as DJ Quik, AMG, and the late Eazy-E. Unlike N.W.A's Straight Outta Compton, Ice Cube's Death Certificate, or Ice-T's Power, Paid the Cost doesn't have a cohesive sociopolitical message. The goal of the Penthouse Players was simply to have some profane, over-the-top fun, and they do so with uneven and unfocused but sometimes entertaining results. While the lyrics aren't all that violent, they are rude, crude, and sexually explicit. In fact, tunes like "Pimp Lane" and "Trust No Bitch" make a point of being as vulgar and offensive as possible. Intellectuals in the hip-hop press generally trashed Paid the Cost, calling it a lowest-common-denominator release and denouncing much of it as a pointless exercise in sexism for the sake of sexism. But then, the Penthouse Players didn't record this album to please hip-hop's intelligentsia. Paid the Cost isn't remarkable, although it's sometimes amusing and fun if you have a taste for off-color humor. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. N-Trance
  2. 2. Undaground Boss
  3. 3. Chekmate
  4. 4. Trust No Bitch
  5. 5. U Cain't Check Me
  6. 6. Jealous Knukle Heads
  7. 7. Jus 2 Kep Yo Attenchun
  8. 8. PLF
  9. 9. Blak Iz a Poet
  10. 10. Explanation of a Playa
  11. 11. They Don't Know
  12. 12. Nathen's Changed
  13. 13. P.S. Phuk U 2
  14. 14. Smooth
  15. 15. Handle Yo Bizness
  16. 16. Pimp Lane
  17. 17. X-It

Customer Reviews