Live One Night Only (Jpn)


aec.mcaj30029/30.2 10/21/98 New

Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.mcaj30029/30.2


    Live One Night Only (Jpn) Universal/MCA

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Live R&B albums were a rarity in the '80s and '90s, when many urban contemporary artists were so reliant on studio technology that they were incapable of taking it to the stage. But Patti LaBelle still had what it took to deliver a worthwhile live performance, even if many of her studio albums sounded stiff, contrived and unspontaneous. Recorded live at New York's Hammerstein Ballroom in 1998, this two-CD set isn't perfect, but it has a lot more to offer than many of the by-the-book studio recordings she'd been making. Though some of the adult contemporary-type material isn't very exciting, Patti makes some sparks fly on inspired performances of "New Attitude," "If You Only Knew" and "You Are My Friend." The primary emphasis is on songs she'd done as a solo artist, but the Philadelphian does manage to get in a medley of "Lady Marmalade" and "What Can You Do for Me" (both '70s gems from her years leading the red-hot trio LaBelle) and revisits her Patti LaBelle & the Blue Belles period with "The Bells" and "Somewhere over the Rainbow." One could lament the absence of "Get You Somebody New" and "Isn't It a Shame" and wish that more songs from her years with LaBelle were included. But again, this album isn't ideal or definitive. Rather, it's a decent release that has more pluses than minuses. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Believe
  2. 2. When You Talk About Love
  3. 3. Flame
  4. 4. He Doesn't Love You
  5. 5. New Attitude
  6. 6. If You Asked Me To
  7. 7. If Only You Knew
  8. 8. You Are My Friend
  9. 9. Lord's Side
  10. 10. Bells
  11. 11. Is It Still Good to You (
  12. 12. Don't Make Me Over
  13. 13. If You Love Me
  14. 14. On My Own
  15. 15. Sparkle
  16. 16. Got to Be Real (With Mari
  17. 17. Lady Marmalade
  18. 18. Patii Talk
  19. 19. Change Is Gonna Come
  20. 20. Hold On (With Eddie Lever
  21. 21. Somewhere Over the Rainbo
  22. 22. I Believe I Can Fly

Product Details

One of R&B's greatest divas, Patti LaBelle has been one of the finest vocalists in soul music in a career that's spanned five decades, and this live video, recorded on-stage at New York City's Manhattan Center in 2000, finds her still at the top of her form. Patti LaBelle: Live! One Night Only features LaBelle singing 20 songs, including "When You Talk About Love," "I Believe I Can Fly," "New Attitude," "Sparkle," "On My Own," and "If You Asked Me To." Luther Vandross and Mariah Carey also make special guest appearances. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi
Release Date

Customer Reviews