20 Th Century Masters: Millennium Collection


aec.porb000073102.2 7/15/03 New
$8.46 $9.95

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.porb000073102.2


    20 Th Century Masters: Millennium Collection Polydor

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Since Pat Travers managed only two pop singles chart entries in the U.S., reaching number 56 with his live version of Little Walter's "Boom Boom (Out Go the Lights)" in 1979 and number 50 with a cover of Bob Marley's "Is This Love" in 1980, the assemblage of a best-of is more subjective than it might be for another artist. The discount-priced 20th Century Masters collection seems to have been compiled with a view toward demonstrating that, sales notwithstanding, Travers' work was almost equally worthy throughout his nine-album, eight-year career on Polydor Records. One track each comes from Pat Travers, Heat in the Street, Pat Travers Band Live! Go for What You Know, Radio Active, and Hot Shot, while Putting It Straight and Makin' Magic each provide two, and three come from Travers' most successful album, Crash and Burn. Only Black Pearl is left out. Since chronological order is ignored in favor of no particular order in the sequencing, one doesn't get a sense of the development of Travers' music over time, how he moved from a simple boogie rock approach to more generally accessible (or commercially compromised) material. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Boom Boom (Out Go the Lights) - 5:03
  2. 2. Snortin' Whiskey - 3:24
  3. 3. Rock 'N' Roll Suzie - 4:37
  4. 4. Stop and Smile - 4:51
  5. 5. Crash and Burn - 5:17
  6. 6. Is This Love - 5:28
  7. 7. Heat in the Street - 4:28
  8. 8. Dedication - 8:53
  9. 9. Killer - 4:59
  10. 10. Life in London - 4:19
  11. 11. Stevie - 7:10
  12. 12. New Age Music - 5:06

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews