Very Best Of


aec.ea71147.2 11/10/92 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ea71147.2


    Very Best Of Rhino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The Very Best of Otis Redding wasn't the first Otis Redding compilation but it is the best of the single-disc collections, distilling the high points across his career (up thru the posthumous hits "(Sitting' On) The Dock of the Bay" and the heartbreaking "I've Got Dreams to Remember") in 16 tracks, every one a musical milestone and a soul music high-point of one kind or another. Although aimed at the casual listener and the neophyte fan, there are some astonishing realizations to be had in listening to this disc and looking at the chart placements of the early sides, and realizing just how uniform his musical influence is -- "These Arms of Mine" and, especially, "Pain In My Heart," from 1962 and 1963, respectively, sold only a fraction of what his later singles did, yet they've been covered by so many artists since, that they're as familiar as any of the other, bigger hits on this disc. The collection is hardly comprehensive, but all of the major bases are touched, right down to his 1967 hit duet "Tramp" with Carla Thomas. The other advantage, especially for those on a budget, is that this was the first Otis Redding compilation to avail itself of the improved master tape research and analog-to-digital technology of the early '90s. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. These Arms of Mine - 3:34
  2. 2. Pain in My Heart - 2:26
  3. 3. That's How Strong My Love Is - 2:25
  4. 4. Mr. Pitiful - 3:44
  5. 5. I've Been Loving You Too Long - 3:57
  6. 6. Respect - 2:12
  7. 7. I Can't Turn You Loose - 3:49
  8. 8. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction - 3:47
  9. 9. My Lover's Prayer - 3:12
  10. 10. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) - 3:43
  11. 11. Try a Little Tenderness - 3:20
  12. 12. Shake - 3:33
  13. 13. Happy Song (Dum-Dum) - 3:45
  14. 14. Tramp - 3:02
  15. 15. (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay - 3:42
  16. 16. I've Got Dreams to Remember - 3:15

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews