War Of The Worlds 0605


rovi.MR0000431090 6/21/05 Used
$3.74 $4.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000431090


    War Of The Worlds 0605 Decca

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Steven Spielberg and John Williams are as inseparable a team as any in the industry, so it comes as no surprise that the soundtrack to the director's adaptation of the famed Orson Welles radio play is a near-perfect study in tension, release, and more tension. Williams plays with elements from many of his previous scores, most notably the dissonant brass that he introduced in Close Encounters of the Third Kind and Jaws. The pace is relentless, with dread building like the inevitable invasion itself, pausing only to offer ambient moments of familial warmth, concern, and agony through the soft strings that have become a Williams staple since A.I. It's a tough listen, as even the normally calming voice of Morgan Freeman, whose narration bookends the score, can't seem to get out of the depths from which it has fallen. In the context of the film, Williams' vision for War of the Worlds more than matches the apocalyptic dread of Welles' original vision, but as a stand-alone listening experience, only those with a true fanboy masochistic streak will be able to withstand such a continuous and ominous barrage of sci-fi dissonance. ~ James Christopher Monger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Prologue - 3:52
  2. 2. The Ferry Scene - 6:49
  3. 3. Reaching the Country - 3:24
  4. 4. The Intersection Scene - 4:13
  5. 5. Ray and Rachel - 3:41
  6. 6. Escape from the City - 4:49
  7. 7. Probing the Basement - 4:12
  8. 8. Refugee Status - 4:50
  9. 9. The Attack on the Car - 3:44
  10. 10. The Separation of the Family - 3:36
  11. 11. The Confrontation with Ogilvy - 5:34
  12. 12. The Return to Boston - 4:29
  13. 13. Escape from the Basket - 9:21
  14. 14. The Reunion - 3:16
  15. 15. Epilogue - 3:11

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews