Warming By The Devil's Fi


rovi.MR0000428411 9/9/03 Used
$2.97 $3.49

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000428411


    Warming By The Devil's Fi Columbia / Columbia/Legacy

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Of all the directors who did films in the Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues series, Charles Burnett has the most direct connection to the music. Born in Mississippi in 1944, Burnett grew up listening to the Delta sounds as the came from the radio in his home, and the Chicago innovations of the music as it developed there by Delta artists. On the Warming by the Devil's Fire collection, Burnett creates an aural montage of the profane and spiritually haunted manifestations inside the music of the Mississippi Delta. These coincide with his cinematic narrative about a young boy who goes to Mississippi to be baptized in the mid-'50s and is exposed -- via a kidnapping by his uncle -- to the rough and rowdy sounds of the "devil's music." Sonically, this is one of the most consistent and satisfying of the series' volumes. From whorehouse anthems such as Jelly Roll Morton's "Turtle Twist" and Ma Rainey's "See See Rider," to the hunted, spiritual sickness of Son House's "Death Letter"; from the bawdy joy of Mississippi John Hurt's "Big Leg Blues," to the victorious gospel transcendence of Sister Rosetta Tharpe's "Up Above My Head," to the place where both sides of the equation come to break a man apart in John Lee Hooker's "I'll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive," Warming by the Devil's Fire exercises and exorcises demons and spirits with a rolling, pulsing, breathing soundtrack where room is made for all conflicting notions of blues and how they can both liberate and tear a person asunder. ~ Thom Jurek

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Turtle Twist - 3:06
  2. 2. See See Rider - 3:11
  3. 3. Death Letter - 4:22
  4. 4. I'm a Fool to Want You - 3:27
  5. 5. Big Leg Blues - 3:52
  6. 6. K.C. Moan - 3:32
  7. 7. Sweet Home Chicago - 3:59
  8. 8. Deep Blue Sea Blues - 3:01
  9. 9. Muddy Water - 3:09
  10. 10. Cross My Heart - 3:22
  11. 11. Dust My Broom - 3:45
  12. 12. You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had - 3:57
  13. 13. Beale Street Blues - 3:42
  14. 14. Hang It on the Wall - 3:46
  15. 15. Up Above My Head (I Hear Music in the Air) - 3:33
  16. 16. Give Me Freedom - 4:32
  17. 17. Mr. Thrill - 3:33
  18. 18. I'll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive - 5:44

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews