Beauty & The Beast: Film Music Classics


aec.nxs8557707.2 2/22/05 New
$11.04 $12.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.nxs8557707.2


    Beauty & The Beast: Film Music Classics Naxos

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text Georges Auric's score for Jean Cocteau's 1946 Beauty and the Beast originally appeared on the Marco Polo label in the 1990s, but has since been licensed by Naxos and repackaged and remarketed for the film music audience, and at a much lower price. Auric's music is some of the finest ever written for a film, a highly atmospheric work that was heavily influenced by the impressionists Maurice Ravel and Claude Debussy, across 24 separate cues, ranging in length from one minute to over four minutes. The episodic content of the music is not a drawback to enjoying this CD, however, as the playing by the Moscow Symphony Orchestra under Adriano makes the parts appear almost seamless. The actual film was scored so hurriedly that the music was never fully synchronized with the rest of the film, and was intended to evoke mood over certain scenes rather than attach itself to precise frames of footage; as a result, it holds up remarkably well as a free-standing work with very little tinkering or editing. Indeed, in another reality, a body of music such as this -- as presented here -- could easily have found an independent life in the concert hall, it is so seductive and complex; oddly enough, whereas Cocteau was thrilled with the music that Auric had delivered on incredibly short notice, most Hollywood studios would have rejected Beauty and the Beast as too complex and demanding of the listener. It's all to our benefit that the composer had a free hand and based his work on his very best judgment of what was acceptable and needed -- he didn't compromise and the result is a bold body of serious music. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Générique (Main Title) - 2:01
  2. 2. La Belle et Avenant (Beauty and Avenant) - 1:25
  3. 3. Dans la forêt (In the forest) - 3:15
  4. 4. La salle des festins (The banquet hall) - 4:35
  5. 5. Le vol d'une rose (The theft of a rose) - 2:48
  6. 6. Retour du Marchand (The Merchant's return) - 1:00
  7. 7. Départ de Belle (Beauty's departure) - 2:37
  8. 8. Les couloirs mystérieux (Mysterious corridors) - 4:37
  9. 9. Apparition de la Bête (Appearance of the Beast) - 2:39
  10. 10. Dans la chambre à coucher (In the bedroom) - 1:18
  11. 11. Le souper (The dinner) - 4:40
  12. 12. Moments d'effroi (Frightful moments) - 4:14
  13. 13. La farce du drapier (The burlesque of the draper) - 3:52
  14. 14. Les entretiens au parc (Conversations in the park) - 4:00
  15. 15. La promesse (The promise) - 2:06
  16. 16. La Bête jalouse (Beast's jealousy) - 1:29
  17. 17. Désespoir d'amour (Love's despair) - 2:39
  18. 18. Les cinq secrets (The five secrets) - 4:04
  19. 19. L'attente (The waiting) - 2:08
  20. 20. Proposition d'Avenant (Avenant's proposal) - 1:26
  21. 21. Le miroir et le gant (The mirror and the glove) - 3:29
  22. 22. Le pavillon de Diane (Diana's pavilion) - 4:17
  23. 23. Prince Charmant (Prince Charming) - 3:51
  24. 24. L'envolée (Flying upwards) - 2:24

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews