An Introduction To....706


rovi.MR0001899631 7/18/06 Used
$4.49 $5.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001899631


    An Introduction To....706 Fuel

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text These are not recordings featuring the original Blind Boys of Mississippi from the 1950s (when they were led by the great Archie Brownlee and his amazing throat-searing vocals), in spite of what the title states, but don't let that stop you from checking this collection out, because it's a great set of hard soul gospel tunes. Sounding a bit like sanctified Stax, these tracks, recorded in the '70s for Stan Lewis' Shreveport-based Jewel Records, burn with righteous fervor, featuring the Blind Boys in front of a band that stops just short of playing full secular funk. "Save a Seat for Me" is revived from the group's '50s creative peak with Don Robey's Peacock Records when Brownlee was still the focal point (Brownlee died in 1960, and was replaced by Roscoe Robinson), while "I Never Heard a Man" is a revisit to the group's Vee-Jay single from 1956. This isn't necessarily the best introduction to the Blind Boys, though, since it is impossible to truly replace a singer like Brownlee, and while this configuration of the gospel group did an admirable job during the Jewel years, especially on songs like "The Tide of Life," which is arguably the group's finest post-Brownlee recording, you'll need the Peacock recordings to really hear these guys at their sanctified best. ~ Steve Leggett

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Pilot of the Airwaves - 4:20
  2. 2. Miracles - 3:16
  3. 3. Blind Boys Prayer - 4:42
  4. 4. Soul You Save - 4:04
  5. 5. All I'm Living For - 3:01
  6. 6. Learning to Lean - 4:00
  7. 7. Walk Together Children - 3:50
  8. 8. Save a Seat for Me - 3:59
  9. 9. Where He Leads Me - 3:37
  10. 10. It's Been Done - 3:04
  11. 11. I'm Just Another Soldier - 3:41
  12. 12. I Never Heard a Man - 3:33
  13. 13. I Believe He Died for Me - 3:05
  14. 14. You Ought to Been There - 2:55
  15. 15. Tide of Life - 3:19

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews