One Grain Of Sand


aec.van2153.2 4/15/97 New
$10.18 $11.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.van2153.2


    One Grain Of Sand Vanguard
    1. One Grain Of Sand Vanguard
    2. One Grain Of Sand (Uk) Vanguard

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text By the time the independent folk label Vanguard Records got around to releasing its sixth Odetta album, One Grain of Sand, in 1963, the singer had already decamped to RCA Victor and released her major-label debut, Sometimes I Feel Like Cryin', in 1962. But One Grain of Sand is not just a collection of outtakes assembled to fulfill a contract and take revenge on a departed artist. It finds Odetta accompanying herself as usual on acoustic guitar and joined by Bill Lee on string bass, putting her inimitable stamp on a good set of traditional folk songs along with numbers associated with Leadbelly, Woody Guthrie, and Pete Seeger. She also brings in spirituals, blues, and even country on a cover of "Cool Water." But, given her distinctive vocal approach, every song from every genre becomes an Odetta song, with her contralto finding unusual depths of feeling in even the lighter fare. It might be argued that, in the early '60s, partially because of record company machinations, Odetta had a glut of LPs in release. But when even a minor one displays such quality, it's hard to complain. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Sail Away, Ladies - 3:41
  2. 2. Moses, Moses - 3:00
  3. 3. Midnight Special - 3:26
  4. 4. Rambler-Gambler - 3:22
  5. 5. Cotton Fields - 3:25
  6. 6. Roll On, Buddy - 3:04
  7. 7. Ain't No Grave - 2:24
  8. 8. Special Delivery Blues - 3:41
  9. 9. Rambling Round Your City - 4:06
  10. 10. Boll Weevil - 2:18
  11. 11. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies - 3:28
  12. 12. She Moved Through the Fair - 3:05
  13. 13. Cool Water - 3:08
  14. 14. One Grain of Sand - 2:09

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews