Slowly We Rot / Cause Of Death


aec.rrd618360.2 9/9/03 New
$16.99 $19.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rrd618360.2


    Slowly We Rot / Cause Of Death Roadrunner Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text As part of its 1998 Obituary reissue campaign, Roadrunner released not only the albums themselves but also a pair of two-fers: Slowly We Rot/Cause of Death and The End Complete/World Demise. These two-fers feature not only the remastered sound of the reissues but also the same bonus tracks. Plus, they're quite a bargain relative to buying the albums individually. On the downside, you're stuck with typically unappealing two-fer artwork, and of course, you're stuck with two albums rather than one. This latter issue isn't such a big deal with these Obituary reissues because the partnered albums go together well. In the case of Slowly We Rot/Cause of Death, you get the band's first two albums, from 1989 and 1990, respectively. The former is a landmark, one of the first major death metal albums to surface and one of Obituary's best; the latter is an anomaly in the band's catalog, plagued by poor production values but highlighted by the substitute guitar duties of the mighty James Murphy of Death (lead guitarist Allen West is absent here). These are two of the most influential death metal albums ever and some of the best music to ever come out of the Florida school. If you're an Obituary fan, these are two of the band's albums you'll most certainly want to hear, along with the successive one, The End Complete. So if you see yourself getting into Obituary and are just now acquiring their music, you might as well save yourself some money and buy this two-fer, unless the original artwork is worth the extra money to you. Or if you're an old fan looking to replace your original, relatively crappy-sounding editions, this is a cheap way to do so, again as long as you don't mind the two-fer artwork. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Internal Bleeding
  2. 2. Godly Beings
  3. 3. 'Til Death
  4. 4. Slowly We Rot
  5. 5. Immortal Visions
  6. 6. Gates to Hell
  7. 7. Words of Evil
  8. 8. Suffocation
  9. 9. Intoxicated
  10. 10. Deadly Intentions
  11. 11. Bloodsoaked
  12. 12. Stinkupuss
  13. 13. Find the Arise
  14. 14. Like the Dead

CD: 2

  1. 15. Infected - 6:35
  2. 16. Body Bag - 6:49
  3. 17. Chopped in Half - 4:45
  4. 18. Circle of the Tyrants - 4:26
  5. 19. Dying - 5:30
  6. 20. Find the Arise - 3:51
  7. 21. Cause of Death - 6:39
  8. 22. Memories Remain - 4:44
  9. 23. Turned Inside Out - 5:59
  10. 24. Infected - 4:16
  11. 25. Memories Remain - 4:34
  12. 26. Chopped in Half - 4:47

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews