The Art Of Defense (Bonus Tracks Edition) (Exp)


aec.fuky276.2 11/25/16 New
$10.48 $13.98

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.fuky276.2


    The Art Of Defense (Bonus Tracks Edition) (Exp) Funky Town Grooves

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text It is amazing how polarizing (for listeners) Bill Laswell's Material side projects can be. They are either fresh and inventive or stale and uninspired. Unfortunately, Nona Hendryx's 1984 Material-produced album The Art of Defense falls into the latter category -- another case of some very talented folks making a very bland record. Nona and the Material crew are obviously capable of great things, but despite the formidable pedigree of the artists involved, The Art of Defense falls short of expectations. There are few real songs here, lyrically, so (if the group were going for the Donna Summer disco diva over complex-studio-grooves kind of thing) it would have made sense to make the music more engaging. Lord knows Laswell is capable of that. Neither the music nor the vocal performances ever take center stage, and the result is simply a boring album. The songs with the least going on in them (and the least going for them) are, invariably, the longest songs on the album, and the two songs that are actually somewhat engaging and well realized ("Electricity" and "Ghost Love") are the record's shortest tracks -- there is a lesson in here somewhere. ~ J. Scott McClintock

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Sweat (Going Through the Motions) - 6:13
  2. 2. Soft Targets - 4:25
  3. 3. Life - 7:33
  4. 4. To the Bone - 5:17
  5. 5. Electricity - 4:51
  6. 6. Ghost Love - 4:16
  7. 7. I Want You - 4:21
  8. 8. I Sweat (Going Through the Motions) [Dance Remix] - 6:43
  9. 9. I Sweat (Going Through the Motions) [Single Version] - 4:54
  10. 10. I Sweat (Going Through the Motions) [Instrumental Version] - 5:42
  11. 11. To the Bone [12" Version] - 6:16
  12. 12. To the Bone [Pygmy Dub Mix, Pts. 1 & 2] - 10:17
  13. 13. Heart of a Woman - 4:43
  14. 14. Heart of a Woman [Extended Remix] - 5:02

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews