World We View


aec.tnl08694.2 2/14/12 New
$7.48 $9.98

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.tnl08694.2


    World We View Tooth & Nail

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The latest Christian metal outfit to emerge from the prolific Tooth & Nail stable, Alabama five-piece Nine Lashes' first studio effort, World We View, serves just as much as a showcase for the label's roster as it does a debut album. There are collaborations with Demon Hunter's Ryan Clark on the punishing screamcore-tinged "Our Darkest Day" and Thousand Foot Krutch's Trevor McNevan on the angst-ridden nu metal of "Adrenaline," while production duties fall to Poor Old Lu's Aaron Sprinkle, who has overseen albums by everyone from the Almost to Hawk Nelson. It's quite a feat, then, that such a fledgling band manages to avoid being overshadowed by such illustrious company. Emphatic opening track "Anthem of the Lonely" proves they're quite capable of making a racket on their own, with its gang mentality chants, crunching metal hooks, and empowering "stand up for yourself" lyrics, as do the helicopter-whirring riffs and impassioned emo-rock melodies of "The Intervention" and the anthemic "woah-oh" chorus of "The Void." But World We View impresses most when it drifts away from the genre's usual thunderous formula. "Get Back" is a surprisingly groove-laden stab at electro-rock featuring a propulsive David Guetta-esque hook, "Afterglow" is a heartbreaking stadium rock ballad that deals with the loneliness of grief, while there are convincing forays into post-grunge ("Believe Your Eyes"), early Red Hot Chili Peppers-inspired funk-rock ("Memo"), and techno-metal ("Write It Down"). The forgettable stripped-back acoustics of "My Friend" is a disappointingly flat way to end a record bursting with emotion and intensity, but if they can continue to pursue the record's more genre-hopping approach with future material, then Nine Lashes could well find themselves crossing over to a mainstream audience. ~ Jon O'Brien

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Anthem of the Lonely - 4:01
  2. 2. Intervention - 4:35
  3. 3. Get Back - 3:05
  4. 4. Afterglow - 4:26
  5. 5. Adrenaline - 3:22
  6. 6. Believe Your Eyes - 4:39
  7. 7. Our Darkest Day - 4:31
  8. 8. Memo - 4:37
  9. 9. Write It Down - 3:49
  10. 10. Void - 3:51
  11. 11. My Friend - 4:44

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews