Over The Edge 7: Time Zones Exchange Project


aec.see12.2 10/7/94 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.see12.2


    Over The Edge 7: Time Zones Exchange Project Seeland

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text The seventh volume of Negativland's Over the Edge series, entitled Time Zones Exchange Project, marked the downfall of the former Soviet Union. The disc is edited entirely from radio broadcasts between 1989 and 1992. The focus of this double-CD set is on the fictitious Howland Island, where a time warp is created in the future to alter the Soviet Union of the past into a free-market nation. A character named C. Eliot Friday and his company Universal Media Netweb are central to the saga. Friday also owns the patent on Mertz, an imaginary drug that helps you make up your mind. Friday's goal throughout the disc is to teach the people of the Soviet Union to learn the ways of a free market, so he can exploit them in the future. More than two hours of audio collages offer mock investigative reporting about Friday, a call-in U.S./Soviet talk-radio show, and the selling of Mertz to the Soviets. This, and the other discs in the Over the Edge series, are, in the end, quality radio drama in the Orwellian tradition. The "Testwave" broadcasts on the second disc were aimed at, as the group called it, "planting the seeds of free market thinking." Testwave is the broadcast manifestation of Time Zones Exchange Project, pointing to the massive size of the U.S.S.R., which spanned 11 time zones. The collection includes 17 tracks of scattered and pieced-together audio experiments marking the historic end of the Soviet superpower. In the end, this is social commentary on the priorities of the United States. The result is a continually engaging, and often disturbing, presentation. Russian language assistance on the disc was performed by Taras Titarenenko. With the tongue-in-cheek help of "Radio Moscow," various Russian musicians, and numerous anonymous callers, the broadcasts became a landmark moment of, as the band puts it, "cultural transference." The radio programs on Time Zones Exchange Project originally aired on KPFA in Berkeley, CA, on the Over the Edge program. ~ Stephen Cramer

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Executive Window, Memo to Friday, Memo From the Future, Dickie Diamond - 12:38
  2. 2. Piddle Diddle Report: Sandamanians, Transinfiltration, Nothing Is ... - 8:12
  3. 3. Piddle Diddle Report: Human Values, Where Is Friday?, a Call From ... - 7:41
  4. 4. Piddle Diddle Report: Strike It Rich, This Fabled Island, Cary ... - 19:32
  5. 5. Piddle Diddle Report: After the Rain, Let's Take a Few Calls, ... - 9:46
  6. 6. Piddle Diddle Report: Sergio Caracus, Frankenstein Meets Cyclops, What - 7:27
  7. 7. Piddle Diddle Report: A Future Confronting the Past Which Is Our ... - 8:31

CD: 2

  1. 8. Unique Cultural Simulcast, Cubulax Guidelines, Dickie Diamond ... - 8:13
  2. 9. Americo-Soviet Free Market Osmosis, Mertz, Intercontinental Phone Mess - 7:29
  3. 10. Russian Factoids, Natural Woman, Toilet Paper - 5:48
  4. 11. Ads and Smiles, Hey You -- Buy This!, Innovation, Shilling for ... - 8:08
  5. 12. Mertz, a Force of Nature, Hard and Soft Thinking, the Good Life, Cars - 7:59
  6. 13. One Bar of Soap, Rubles, Mertz, It's as If We Never Left Home, Negativ - 10:47
  7. 14. Passage to the 4th Dimension, Memo to Howland, Calling Radio Moscow - 5:19
  8. 15. Presidential Campaign Shortwave Broadcast by C. Eliot Friday - 3:40
  9. 16. Piddle Diddle Report: What's to Come, the Quantum Edge, Fiber ... - 9:15
  10. 17. Place in Time to Put Time in It's Place, Do You Have a Job?, Das ... - 10:32

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews