Play N The Ga(Bonus Trcks


rovi.MR0001146551 Used
$44.19 $51.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001146551


    Play N The Ga(Bonus Trcks Cool Sound Records
    1. Play N The Ga(Bonus Trcks Cool Sound Records
    2. Play N The Game(Vinyl0615 Relativity / Rock Classics

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Play 'N' the Game found Nazareth continuing in the AOR direction they established with Close Enough for Rock 'n' Roll. Like that album, it trades the driving rock that made the group famous for an experimental sound that toys with several different musical genres. For instance, "Down Home Girl" is a stab at Southern rock, and the group's cover of the Beach Boys classic "Wild Honey" slows down that song's tempo to create an effects-laden psychedelic atmosphere. Elsewhere, the group covers the hard rock bases with "Someone to Roll" and "Born to Love," a pair of energetic, guitar-driven rockers that would have fit in fine on Razamanaz or Loud & Proud. They also cross-breed the energy of these tracks with pop hooks on "L.A. Girls," a nimble bit of pop/rock fusion where speedy guitar riffs duke it out a with handclap-driven pop song beat. However, the undeniable highlights of Play 'N' the Game are its ballads: "I Want to Do Everything for You" is a promise of eternal love built on a swinging and pleasingly earthy bass groove and "I Don't Want to Go on Without You" is a moody tale of lost love that shows off Manny Charlton's ability to craft the soft but powerful guitar riffs necessary for a good power ballad. This album benefits from a more consistent overall sound than Close Enough for Rock 'n' Roll, but its shifts in tone are too abrupt for their own good, making the proceedings come off as a loose collection of songs instead of a fully conceived album. Despite this problem, Play 'N' the Game is an effective slice of AOR that will please the Nazareth fan base. ~ Donald A. Guarisco

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Somebody to Roll
  2. 2. Down Home Girl
  3. 3. Flying
  4. 4. Waiting for the Man
  5. 5. Born to Love
  6. 6. I Want to Do Everything for You
  7. 7. I Don't Want to Go on Without You
  8. 8. Wild Honey
  9. 9. L.A. Girls
  10. 10. Good Love
  11. 11. I Don't Want to Go on Without You [Bonus Track
  12. 12. Waiting for the Man
  13. 13. Somebody to Roll
  14. 14. Born to Love

Customer Reviews