aec.ccul7020.2 2/21/06 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ccul7020.2


    Futura Trama / Circular Moves
    1. Futura Trama / Circular Moves
    2. Futura Trama

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text After the tragic and premature death of Nação Zumbi's former bandleader, Chico Science, in 1996, most people thought that that would be the end of the band. But after a somewhat hesitant and uncertain start, the new, post-Chico formation of Nação Zumbi found its way and re-emerged as one of the most creative and exciting bands of Brazil. Slick, modern surf rock with a distinct psychedelic touch is the new element on this album. And more than before, the organic instruments of the band are mixed with electronic beats and sophisticated sonic details. The most obvious example of this is the dazzling "Expresso da Eletrica Avenida," where the beeping and whistling keyboard seems to compete with the Game Boy beats and the heavily racing electric guitar. The psychedelic surf influence is most apparent on the two opening tracks, "Hoje, Amanhã e Depois" and "Na Hora de Ir," with the lead guitar seemingly brought to the Brazilian 21st century straight from the Californian '60s. Compared to earlier albums, the hip-hop influence plays a much smaller roll here. If Futura lacks anything, it is some of the raw power and weight of the previous, eponymous album. But at the same time, the potential power of the band is always lurking around the corner. Nação Zumbi just chose not to use all of it this time around. But you don't need to hear it; you know it is there anyway. A typical example is the excellent title track, with its muffled drum beat and bass sound pared with the sparse but ominous guitar play and Jorge du Peixes' dark and characteristically monotonous singing. The production is absolutely great throughout, really bringing out the best of band and the result is pure Brazilian rock magic. ~ Philip Jandovský

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Hoje, Amanhã E Depois - 4:33
  2. 2. Na Hora de Ir - 4:30
  3. 3. Memorando - 3:52
  4. 4. Ilha - 4:31
  5. 5. Respirando - 4:38
  6. 6. Voyager - 4:07
  7. 7. Expresso Da Elétrica Avenida - 3:55
  8. 8. Nebulosa - 4:43
  9. 9. Sem Preço - 2:17
  10. 10. Vai Buscar - 4:54
  11. 11. Pode Acreditar - 3:16
  12. 12. Futura - 3:17

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews