My Fair Lady / O.S.T.



Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sny66711.2


    My Fair Lady / O.S.T. Sony Classical / Sony Music Distribution
    1. My Fair Lady / O.S.T. (Ger) Sony Music
    2. Soundtrack: My Fair Lady / Various SISU Home Entertainment
    3. My Fair Lady / O.S.T. Sony Classical / Sony Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Inevitably, the original soundtrack to My Fair Lady is remembered, like the film, for the absence of Julie Andrews, who starred in the Broadway and London stage productions, but was deemed, at least at the time when the casting decision had to be made, not enough of a star to carry the movie. (Embarrassingly, by the time the movie opened, Mary Poppins had made her more than enough of a star to do so.) Instead, Audrey Hepburn stepped into the role of the pre-World War I London flower girl Eliza Doolittle, who aspires to a better accent and the social advantages that will come with it. Ironically, Hepburn's voice was dubbed by Marni Nixon when it came to singing. (Nixon was an accomplished Hollywood voice ghost, having previously sung for Deborah Kerr in The King and I, Natalie Wood in West Side Story, and Rosalind Russell in Gypsy, among other assignments.) Rex Harrison re-created his stage role as the elocutionist, Professor Henry Higgins (he had also appeared in the film adaptation of George Bernard Shaw's play Pygmalion, the source for My Fair Lady), as did Stanley Holloway, as Eliza's flamboyant Cockney father. It was good that Harrison and Holloway got to immortalize their performances on film, but since both were making their third recordings of the score, they didn't have much to add. Nixon (no doubt with bits of Hepburn here and there) was fine, but the composite performance lacked the flair that Andrews would have given it. The result was an acceptable recording that did not surpass the Broadway or London cast albums. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Overture
  2. 2. Why Can't The English?
  3. 3. Wouldn't It Be Loverly
  4. 4. The Flower Market
  5. 5. I'm An Ordinary Man
  6. 6. With A Little Bit Of Luck
  7. 7. Just You Wait
  8. 8. Servants Chorus
  9. 9. The Rain In Spain
  10. 10. I Could Have Danced All Night
  11. 11. Ascot Gavotte
  12. 12. Ascot Gavotte (Reprise)
  13. 13. On The Street Where You Live
  14. 14. Intermission
  15. 15. The Transylvanian March
  16. 16. The Embassy Waltz
  17. 17. You Did It
  18. 18. Just You Wait (Reprise) - 1:24
  19. 19. On The Street Where You Live (Reprise)
  20. 20. Show Me
  21. 21. The Flowermarket
  22. 22. Get Me To The Church On Time
  23. 23. A Hymn To Him
  24. 24. Without You
  25. 25. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  26. 26. End Titles
  27. 27. Exit Music

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews