Present Different Circles


aec.difc1.2 12/9/16 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.difc1.2


    Present Different Circles Different Circles

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text A year after Mumdance (Jack Adams) released a remarkable Fabriclive mix CD, he and frequent collaborator Logos (James Parker) showcased their Different Circles label and event series with Present Different Circles. The duo continue to explore the outer edges of grime and experimental club music, dipping into heavy bass tones and jagged beats, but also lapsing into washes of noise. Rarely does a beat stay consistent for long, and nearly all of the tracks appear for under three minutes each. Mumdance and/or Logos are responsible for many of the productions, but Different Circles family members like Airhead, Strict Face, and Rabit are extensively featured as well. Mumdance's remix of Airhead's "Kazzt" is startling, with gabber-like drill beats. Logos' "Glass" is a dark rave hallucination that dovetails into the shredded noise of Mumdance's "Path of the Seer." The duo name a track "Cafe del Mar" after Energy 52's inescapable 1993 trance anthem, and while their tune is more abstract and swampy, there's still something grand and euphoric about it. Some tracks, particularly ones by Yamaneko and Inkke, go for the "weightless" sound, with airy, video game-inspired bass melodies floating with little or no accompaniment. The album ends with rough, pulverizing pieces by Fis and Shapednoise, as well as a more reflective track by Sharp Veins. Truly adventurous and occasionally volatile, the mix confirms that Mumdance and Logos are two of grime's most innovative DJs and producers. ~ Paul Simpson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Bleep Stasis
  2. 2. Kazzt
  3. 3. Kazzt [Mumdance Remix]
  4. 4. FFS
  5. 5. Glass
  6. 6. Path of the Seer
  7. 7. Submerged Binary
  8. 8. Cafe del Mar
  9. 9. More Memories
  10. 10. Cirrus
  11. 11. Python Crossing
  12. 12. Inside the Catacomb
  13. 13. Pioneer
  14. 14. Glass [Boylan Devil Mix]
  15. 15. Love Song
  16. 16. Bells [RPG Mix]
  17. 17. Shadow Temple Early
  18. 18. Deep Core Consciousness
  19. 19. Angels of the Water Table
  20. 20. Glass [Shapednoise Remix]
  21. 21. Already Bones

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews