Mtv Unplugged



Product Promotions

25% off sitewide with $30 (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, select tech and LEGO items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.wbi27864.2


    Mtv Unplugged WEA International

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The unplugged trend of the 1990s could be quite revealing. If a band used amplification to mask its deficiencies, going acoustic could easily expose them. But when artists who had a lot going for them -- everyone from Aerosmith and Bruce Springsteen to L.L. Cool J -- went unplugged, they had a lot of strong material to rely on and triumphed in an acoustic or electro-acoustic environment. Stripped of the arena rock amplification it was known for, Maná generally sounds decent on this live-in-a-studio recording for MTV Unplugged. Much of the material is commercial, middle-of-the-road pop/rock fare; ballads like "Vivir Sin Aire" and "Cachito" are enjoyable, though not earth shattering. Nonetheless, the Mexican rock en Español band can be challenging at times. "Cuando Los Angeles Lloran" is a poignant ode to Chico Mendez, a South American environmentalist/activist who was murdered because of his fight to save the Amazon, while "Ana" describes the desperation of a pregnant 15-year-old who is afraid to tell her parents and gets no support from the boy who impregnated her. Equally sobering is the reggae-influenced "Falta Amor," an account of a homeless child. For the most part, however, Unplugged is the work of a band that is content to be decent when it's quite capable of being compelling. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. No Ha Parado de Llover - 7:40
  2. 2. En el Muelle de San Blas - 7:00
  3. 3. Vivir Sin Aire - 6:45
  4. 4. Cuando los Ángeles Lloran - 7:06
  5. 5. Cachito - 5:19
  6. 6. Desapariciones - 4:05
  7. 7. Te Solte la Rienda - 7:04
  8. 8. Falta Amor - 4:15
  9. 9. Coladito - 2:35
  10. 10. Se Me Olvidó Otra Vez - 4:43
  11. 11. Ana - 5:05
  12. 12. Rayando el Sol - 5:00
  13. 13. Perdido en un Barco - 5:44
  14. 14. Oye Mi Amor - 6:37

Product Details

Each episode of MTV Unplugged features artists of the pop or rock world laying down their amplifiers to present their songs acoustically, without the technological adornments associated with modern music. Many artists take the opportunity to present their songs in unfamiliar arrangements or to perform versions of songs that influenced their careers. In this particular program, Mexican rockers Mana perform the hits that have made them popular throughout Latin America. ~ Rob Ferrier, Rovi
Release Date

Customer Reviews