Never Better


aec.cdb5637406233.2 12/7/04 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cdb5637406233.2


    Never Better CD Baby

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Flare's L.D. Beghtol returns, with the help of ex-King Missile member Chris Xefos as the wonderfully orchestral Moth Wranglers. The pair are joined by nine others to create a collection of seven superbly crafted songs that are much lighter than Beghtol's work in Flare. The follow-up to 2001's Never Mind the Context, Never Better is an interesting ride. "Never Said 'I'm Sorry'" starts off the disc in toe-tapping fashion, followed by the moodier "Love and Jump Back." "Overnight Sensation" is a vocals-based trance, while a cover of the Pixies' "No. 13 Baby" is a seven-and-a-half-minute circus, with unexpected changes always around the corner. The album's seamless flow energizes the sometimes lethargic pace, resulting in an astoundingly provocative collection. "Better Off Alone" concludes the mini-album with a dizzying collage of vocals and offbeat sounds and tape loops. Recorded with Beghtol on the east coast and Xefos on the west coast, the collaboration between the musicians and other musicians is proof that impersonal arrangements can still add up to intensely personal music. Members of Future Bible Heroes, Magnetic Fields, Science Park and Dirty Power add richness to the disc, which was released on Magnetic Records in 2004. ~ Stephen Cramer

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Never Said 'I'm Sorry' - 3:14
  2. 2. Love and Jump Back - 6:30
  3. 3. Overnight Sensation - 4:28
  4. 4. Course - 7:00
  5. 5. No. 13 Baby - 8:33
  6. 6. Pledge - 1:38
  7. 7. Better Off Alone - 5:40

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews