aec.ryk10263.2 7/27/93 New
$10.18 $11.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ryk10263.2


    Good Ryko Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text While it may not be as stellar as their future releases would be, Morphine's debut album, 1992's Good, did a splendid job of introducing the Boston trio's highly original sound. While it was the alternative crowd who immediately latched onto Morphine, their music was geared more toward the jazz scene -- a wailing saxophone, lead bass (played with a slide), and lyrics influenced by '50s beat poetry were all-important ingredients. The opening title track remains one of the band's darkest, while other selections are a bit more upbeat -- "Have a Lucky Day" and the inappropriately titled "The Saddest Song"; all the while, the band excels at creating different moods with each successive track. Other highlights include the mid-paced "Claire" and "The Only One," the slight salsa feel of "You Speak My Language," the frantic "Test-Tube Baby/Shoot'm Down," and the more calm and sultry "You Look Like Rain." On their next release, Cure for Pain, Morphine would improve further on the strength of their songwriting and cutting-edge sound, but Good still contains more than a few standouts. ~ Greg Prato

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Good - 3:34
  2. 2. Saddest Song - 3:53
  3. 3. Claire - 3:08
  4. 4. Have a Lucky Day - 4:30
  5. 5. You Speak My Language - 3:26
  6. 6. You Look Like Rain - 4:40
  7. 7. Do Not Go Quietly Unto Your Grave - 3:19
  8. 8. Lisa - 1:50
  9. 9. Only One - 3:44
  10. 10. Medley - 3:10
  11. 11. Other Side - 4:53
  12. 12. I Know You - 2:17
  13. 13. I Know You - 3:46

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews