aec.pjk207.2 2/12/08 New
$10.49 $13.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.pjk207.2


    Subrosa Projekt Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text To say that Middle Pillar act Mirabilis also fits in on Projekt with its second album would be to understate a bit -- they almost seem designed for it, at least that part of the label that has consistently shown a soft spot for medievally inclined performers via the Dead Can Dance template, no bad thing when done right (and no question they do it especially well on the instrumental/wordless vocal piece "Undercurrent"). So if the photos of the core duo of Dru Allen and Summer Bowman, both singers as well as instrumentalists, suggests a session either for Propaganda magazine or an SCA flyer, that shouldn't put off anyone not dyed in that particular wool. A mix of originals and reinterpretations suggestive of new labelmates Unto Ashes on their many albums, Sub Rosa hits all the expected sonic marks -- moody, minimal arrangements, stately drumming -- but relies on Allen's and Bowman's excellent vocals at the core. Their singing has the same clear, strong feel to it as the underrated Lynn Canfield's does, and on a cappella songs like "The Flowers Pressed Down," one of several such pieces on Sub Rosa, the effect is entrancing. Among the other originals, a standout is "The Journey," sung and co-written by guest performer Cindy Adzuki Chang in memory of a departed relative. The covers, meanwhile, include two jazz-age standards -- "Nature Boy" and "Angel Eyes," both given gently unnerving takes thanks to more a cappella arrangements (the latter also given a fake vinyl scratch for effect) -- as well as a faithful take on the Beatles' "Because." The fragility and calm singing of the original is thrown into fine relief by the singing here, suggesting less obvious roots to their approach. ~ Ned Raggett

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. World Indifferent - 4:22
  2. 2. Journey - 4:47
  3. 3. Vastness - 3:58
  4. 4. Nature Boy - 2:22
  5. 5. Flowers Pressed Down - 2:41
  6. 6. Undercurrent - 3:09
  7. 7. Est Bel et Bon - 2:34
  8. 8. O Maria Mater Pia - 2:43
  9. 9. Odyle - 2:14
  10. 10. Angel Eyes - 3:40
  11. 11. Aubade - 4:53
  12. 12. Ballade of the Centre - 2:19
  13. 13. Farce - 2:04
  14. 14. Because - 3:53
  15. 15. Sub Rosa - 4:38
  16. 16. World Indifferent - 6:00

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews