Announcement / Various


aec.cdb5637434759.2 2/13/01 New
$9.73 $12.98

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cdb5637434759.2


    Announcement / Various YLE

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Finnish pianist/composer Mika Pohjola is a superb technician who also possesses a crafty compositional pen, and the artist generally pushes his creative faculties to the limits, as evidenced by an increasingly rich recorded legacy. With this 1998 effort, the pianist, along with saxophonist Chris Cheek and longtime running mates drummer Roberto Dani and bassist Matt Penman, integrates ferocious soloing into a palette often consisting of vibrant choruses, peppery exchanges, swiftly executed rhythms, and lyrically rich unison lines. However, Pohjola also excels as a forward-thinking visionary who draws upon widespread influences, whether they be Far Eastern modalities, Scandinavian folk, or the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, while also injecting innocent, lullaby-style melodies into the grand scheme of things. Simply stated, Announcement represents a joyous event that supersedes a good portion of the nondescript, overly hyped, and rigorously marketed 1990s and 2000s brand of post-bop. This refreshing and altogether stirring production imparts a lasting impression, and is strongly recommended. ~ Glenn Astarita

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Party - 8:29
  2. 2. Indian Restaurant - 3:18
  3. 3. Kungörelse (Announcement) - 9:30
  4. 4. Thinking, Wondering, Dreaming - 6:56
  5. 5. When Things Will Change - 8:20
  6. 6. Kids' Song - 3:21
  7. 7. Hair, Scarf & Fragrance - 6:29
  8. 8. Portrait of Three Statues - 7:31
  9. 9. Maalaiselämää (Country Living) - 4:45

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews