Romance On Film / Romance On Broadway


aec.coj4901.2 10/10/00 New
$15.74 $20.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.coj4901.2


    Romance On Film / Romance On Broadway Concord

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Romantic inspiration can be found in many places, but song stylist Michael Feinstein finds his in motion picture film scores and Broadway musicals on his third Concord Jazz release. Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway is a two-CD set filled with great romantic ballads such as "The More I See You," "The Second Time Around," "All the Way," and the enduring classic "When I Fall in Love." Feinstein's voice is alluring, sophisticated, and comfortable on this excellent collection of popular music that he interprets in so many heartfelt ways. He adds an additional set of lyrics written by Lorenz Hart on "Isn't It Romantic" that were never included in the original 1932 film Love Me Tonight. On the second disc, he places the emphasis on songs from Broadway musicals with the same sensitive phrasing, nuance, and romanticism. "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face" is a harmonic masterpiece. His dreamy reminisces of the heroine from the landmark Broadway musical My Fair Lady also offers superb piano stylings from Alan Broadbent. One of the most romantic love songs on the collection is "As Long as She Needs Me." Feinstein's amorous interpretation of the lyrics reveals the true beauty of this great love song. Accompanied by such great musicians as Marian McPartland on piano, Bucky Pizzarelli on guitar, Gary Foster on alto saxophone, Peter Erskine on drums, and Chuck Berghofer on bass, among others, Michael Feinstein takes these songs to a different time and space that is sure to keep lovers of romantic ballads happy for some time to come. ~ Paula Edelstein

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. More I See You - 6:17
  2. 2. Second Time Around - 6:32
  3. 3. As Time Goes By - 6:29
  4. 4. Isn't It Romantic? - 5:45
  5. 5. All the Way - 5:18
  6. 6. Something's Gotta Give - 5:07
  7. 7. Way You Look Tonight - 7:28
  8. 8. Long Ago (And Far Away) - 6:40
  9. 9. When I Fall in Love/My Foolish Heart - 6:25
  10. 10. How Do You Keep the Music Playing? - 5:24

CD: 2

  1. 11. Always - 6:06
  2. 12. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face - 5:07
  3. 13. If This Isn't Love - 4:40
  4. 14. They Say It's Wonderful - 4:22
  5. 15. I've Never Been in Love Before - 3:55
  6. 16. As Long as She Needs Me - 5:39
  7. 17. Song Is You - 4:12
  8. 18. Darn That Dream - 6:58
  9. 19. Best Things in Life Are Free - 5:48
  10. 20. My Funny Valentine - 5:00
  11. 21. Taking a Chance on Love - 4:00
  12. 22. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye - 4:04

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews